RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

215 Users Online (93 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Dell 30" LCD Monitor

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 5:14:00 PM | Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#1

josta


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
69 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


We are thinking about getting the Dell 30" LCD monitor for two of our workstations here; is there such a thing as being "too big" for CAD drawing? We're presently using Gateway 21" LCD monitors. Are there any drawbacks to this size that we may not have thought about? Thanks! JOHN

-----------------------------------

John Acosta ARA, Architect

Mountain Architecture, Big Bear Lake CA

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 5:30:37 PM | RE: Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#2

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


drawback, the people without one will be unhappy make sure your grahpics card can support the monitors higher resolutions Post edited on 2006-08-02 12:39:52

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 6:14:40 PM | RE: Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#3

gdoorn


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 26, 2006
118 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


how close they are sitting to the monitors may be a factor too. i am about 3' or so from my dual monitors and it isnt too bad. i am getting a 42" plasma in a few days for my home TV viewing/computing pleasure. i am excited to see how well Revit works on that. but i will be across the room, so maybe it wont work all that well.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 6:45:15 PM | RE:

#4

josta


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
69 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


[quote= gdoorn - 2006-08-02 13:14:40]how close they are sitting to the monitors may be a factor too.

That's another area of concern for us; we sit 18" from our 21" monitors and it is just about right. It seems that if the monitor is so large we MUST sit 36" or so away from it, that would defeat the purpose of a larger monitor because 30" at 36" away would be equivalent to maybe a 24"- 26" monitor at 18".

JOHN

Post edited on 2006-08-02 14:23:27

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 7:05:15 PM | RE: Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#5

zanzibarbob


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 4, 2004
26 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


I have two Dell 21" monitors and was considering something bigger but since I sit about 18" away I'm not sure whether the large rmonitors will help. It's like watch a TV so large you have to sit across the room. The high resolution of my monitors is just right for my work. Try using a 30" at the store and see how it works out. At one point I was thinking of my two 21" flanking a 30." Maybe in the future.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 7:39:40 PM | RE: Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#6

Don Sutherland


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 9, 2004
2 Posts
No Rating


I got the 30" dell monitor and it works great. After using for 3 weeks I have found that you get use to the size and I seat at the same location as with a 21". I also got a 19" flat dell monitor. Most likely yoou will have to get a new graphics card because of the Dual link and resolution. It was $350.00 at new egg. Don Sutherland, Architect, Irvine, CA and Couer d'Alene, ID

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 8:07:05 PM | RE: Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#7

billyskills


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 25, 2006
1 Posts
No Rating


i'm running off a 24" dell monitor, which is really sweet, but i can imagine no desktop application (even CAD stuff) that could justify forking out for a 30" to be honest... as someone else mentioned, u wud have to sit back a good bit from it, and physically turn your head to read something full screen left to right!

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 8:10:36 PM | RE:

#8

josta


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
69 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I got the 30" dell monitor and it works great. After using for 3 weeks I have found that you get use to the size and I seat at the same location as with a 21".
I also got a 19" flat dell monitor.
Most likely yoou will have to get a new graphics card because of the Dual link and resolution. It was $350.00 at new egg.
Don Sutherland, Architect, Irvine, CA and Couer d'Alene, ID

Don, thanks for your response! I do have a couple of questions....

1. Do you run both the 30" and the 19" off the same graphics card?

2. How far back is your face to the 30" monitor?

3. Do you happen to have the make/model of the graphics card that you use?

4. And finally, can you think of anything to add before I send the Dell folks my check?

Thanks again!

JOHN

PS Billyskills: I realize you have to turn your head to look at the different parts, but isn't that the whole idea; it's like looking on some plans....you have to turn your head as well. That way we won't have to use the pan so often.

Post edited on 2006-08-02 17:27:49

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 8:35:54 PM | RE: Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#9

Don Sutherland


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 9, 2004
2 Posts
No Rating


John, 1. I run the 2 monitors side by side from the same card. Cut and paste is great. 2. The card is the XFX Ge force 7900 GT 256 MB DDr3 PCI-E card, I got it from Dell. 3. I got the 30" from some other site than Dell, It was 400- 500.00 cheaper. I did a search for price at goggle. 4. I have gone to the Inland Empire revit user group once. Have you gone? 5. The 30 " is a lot of $$$$, but will will have for a long time, untill the 42" comes out?? I spend 6-10 hours a day with the computer, I think it is a good investment for my eyes. I'm a one man office, so I only had to buy one.. 6. I seat 20" -24" back from the monitor.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 9:03:55 PM | RE: Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#10

CJCoon


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 2, 2006
29 Posts
No Rating


Try Pricegrabber.com. I've got a friend who has gotten some amazing stuff for way cheaper then I thought possible. Just a thought. Kune

-----------------------------------
RHL Design Group Inc.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 9:55:16 PM | RE: Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#11

BearValleyDesign


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 27, 2006
9 Posts
No Rating


Oh my gosh, John. I think that is a terrible idea. Do you have my shipping address? :-) Looking forward to seeing it! Steve

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 2, 2006 at 11:27:10 PM | RE: Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#12

josta


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
69 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Don, thanks again for the valuable in put. Yes, we're getting it through a different supplier. I'll post the price and name of the dealer after we get ours, so they don't sell you "our" monitors first, lol. No, I haven't been to the IE Revit Group....someday, though! No, Steve, I don't have your shipping address, sorry. So I'll just have the monitors sent to me, LOL. JOHN Post edited on 2006-08-02 20:00:23

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 22, 2006 at 9:41:53 PM | RE: Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#13

josta


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
69 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Nielsen Distributing near Santa Barbara, CA (800-526-1744) has them for $1529 each, including shipping. Add $60 if you want one that is guaranteed not to have any dead pixels. Got two of 'em coming! JOHN

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Sep 6, 2006 at 2:39:56 PM | RE: Dell 30" LCD Monitor

#14

josta


active

Joined: Thu, Nov 10, 2005
69 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Our two Dell 30" monitors came in....the resolution (2560 x 1600) on these monitors is amazing, and it is nice to be able to have most, if not all, of the floor plan on the screen all at once. No more panning around so much (and possibly missing something in the process). We got the "premium" ones; guaranteed "no dead pixels", for $50 additional. We have them about 16"-18" away from our faces and not across the room, lol. Nielsen (phone number above)was a bit slow on shipping but worth it for this price! JOHN

-----------------------------------

John Acosta ARA, Architect

Mountain Architecture, Big Bear Lake CA

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

CRT or LCD/other

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Oct 3, 2006 at 6:39:00 AM

7

1440p or 120hz monitor for Revit

Community >> The Studio

Sat, Aug 24, 2013 at 11:11:13 PM

0

Large Monitors and Options Bar "Skipping"

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 23, 2009 at 8:22:06 AM

6

copy/monitor Levels

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 18, 2009 at 3:24:15 PM

5

24" v 26" monitor

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 20, 2008 at 1:27:50 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1779244

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151939

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5599

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights