RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

183 Users Online (57 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> Ridge Capping?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Sep 28, 2004 at 2:39:01 AM | Ridge Capping?

#1

riksta


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 21, 2004
60 Posts
No Rating


I'm new to Revit, but have a reasonable knowledge of ADT. In ADT you can create a ridge capping profile (iron roof or tile), cut it in half, and apply it to each edge of a ridge and two halves form a capping (Edge profile method same as guttering but obviously not on eave/fascia edges). So far I have found Revit a much less complex program than ADT, (Revit-115MB, ADT 908MB says it all!!), but is there an easy method for creating ridge capping in Revit?? Ridge capping on angled hip ridges (15.7deg on 22.5 deg roof) and normal ridges (22.5 deg on 22.5 deg roof) has different angles etc. an it is quite complex and time consuming to create and place correctly by conventional methods in AutoCad. ADT solved this problem with edge profiles can Revit?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 14, 2005 at 11:30:04 PM | RE: Ridge Capping?

#2

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


we are also recent beginners too, and would love to place ridge cappings, and valleys, as that is what we do in our old 2d methods. is it a sweep? (maybe i am showing amateur status). also, is it possible to put end caps on gutters?

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 15, 2005 at 2:02:30 AM | RE: Ridge Capping?

#3

riksta


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 21, 2004
60 Posts
No Rating


Wow, you must of done some reading through the archives for this one. I've learn a bit since I wrote this thanks to Mr Spot & Mr GG etc. 1. Creat a new metric profile family. 2. Draw a profile view (section view) of the ridge capping. 3. Save the file and close. 4. Load the file into your drawing using load family from the file menu. 5. Select the Host Sweep function under the Modelling tab. 6. Select roof fascia. 7. Click properties. 8. Click Edit/New 9. Click Duplicate 10. Choose a name such as Ridge Capping 11. Press OK. 12. In the Parameter column, under Profile select the capping profile previously loaded 13. To place the capping just hover over the roof ridges and click (they should highlight when the mouse arrow is over them). Use the same method for valleys. If all else fails, Mr Spot works somewhere in Brisbane ??

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 15, 2005 at 7:29:09 AM | RE: Ridge Capping?

#4

Arnel Aguel


active

Joined: Wed, Sep 22, 2004
40 Posts
No Rating


It will work as mentioned by riksta using the hosted sweep fascia system provided that: a) the ridge cap profile must be symmetrical about the vertical ref. plane in the profile family editor b) lastly and most importanly select the profile and assign it to the right profile category i.e. fascia category otherwise your profile wont show up in the fascia drop downt list.

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 19, 2005 at 12:55:44 PM | RE: Ridge Capping?

#5

Will9000


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 28, 2005
117 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Riksta, Thanks for your step by step description for providing details on the ridge detail, works graet!! However i have tried the same principle for the valley but cannot seem to get it to work. The top of the valley protrudes over the top of the roof, am i doing smething wrong or is there an alternative method in accomplishing the required result. Thanks again

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 27, 2005 at 1:00:29 PM | RE: Ridge Capping?

#6

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


thanks riksta for the tips - we guessed some of this, and your answers helped more. we now put ridge/hip cappings on everything! now can put complicated barges on queenslander gables. have a suggestion about the valleys - may help. we are amatuers, but getting there. each sweep has a couple of useful constraints, vertical and horizontal. playing with them may solve things. i know it helps us when placing gutters correctly - at the underside of sheeting, not the top.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Nov 29, 2007 at 4:05:57 PM | Ridge Capping?

#7

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Does anyone have the profile they can share?  I am looking for a ridge cap but I don't know how to start in the profile.  Did you get your set up to automatically adjust to the roofs pitch?  Thanks,

Lorne


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 29, 2007 at 4:26:27 PM | Ridge Capping?

#8

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I created a profile.  But when I place it on my roof as a roof facsia sweep, it doesn't fit right.  I just keep the profile flat and then rotated it in it's properties to -9.9 Degrees for a 3/12 pitch roof.  Also the cap doesn't go together correctly beacuse it's two different sweeps since the angle of the roof can vary from project to project.  Look at the image to see what I'm talking about.  Also I posted my profile incase anyone wants to look at that.  Thanks in advance

Attached Images

30301_Untitled-1.jpg

Attached Files

-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 27, 2017 at 12:44:05 PM | Ridge Capping?

#9

martaw


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 30, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


I know this thread is quite old. Anyway for people who are still looking for answers... Creating a new profiles and using fascia tool for ridge cappings is the best way. Answering to lonre17 question. You can adjust end of your profile simply when you click at your fascia you will see option MODIFY MITERING on the up panel button. Then you choose option that fits your needs (in my case vertical) and click on your end of fascia



Attached Images

152587_32231223.png152587_23423.png

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Ridge Capping

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Thu, Apr 21, 2005 at 11:59:24 AM

1

Can a sweep be applied to a roof ridge to model ridge capping??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 4, 2008 at 5:01:27 PM

11

Ridge Capping in 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 6:46:14 AM

2

RIDGE CAPPING??

Community >> The Studio

Fri, Aug 25, 2006 at 12:21:01 AM

2

roof ridge capping

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Sun, May 21, 2006 at 4:40:53 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1653741

Objects:

22109

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.4289

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights