RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

252 Users Online (120 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Sep 27, 2004 at 2:37:02 PM | Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

#1

byarchitec


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 27, 2004
11 Posts
No Rating


How do I send Revit drawings as e-mails to AutoCad 2000 - 2004 users?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 28, 2004 at 5:47:01 AM | RE: Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

#2

papurajx


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 5, 2004
11 Posts
No Rating


Export the relevent 'Revit view' say 'Level 1 plan' for E.g into AutoCAD using the export command under 'File' Menu and send it across through e-mail....That's it.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 28, 2004 at 2:56:33 PM | RE: Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

#3

byarchitec


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 27, 2004
11 Posts
No Rating


Papurajx, I have tried this before. When you choose the Revit View (not sheet?) it asks you under File- Export-to choose "Dwg, DXF, DGN" then I save it to a folder. When I mail this new .dwg the reciever says that it has arrived missing it's ex-ref. Paul B

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 28, 2004 at 11:02:04 PM | RE: Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


We always open the dwg file after the export and bind the xref's. By default revit has the sheet as one file and each addtional view a separate file xref'd into the sheet file...

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Sep 29, 2004 at 1:45:16 AM | RE: Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

#5

byarchitec


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 27, 2004
11 Posts
No Rating


Mr. Spot, How does one "bind" an ex ref? Paul

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 29, 2004 at 4:07:35 AM | RE: Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

#6

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Open the dwg, sheet file. type "xref" then hit enter. Select all the xref's and choose bind, then you are given an option to bind or insert, choose bind... There you go (save). You can now delete the other dwg files that revit created.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Sep 29, 2004 at 3:13:24 PM | RE: Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

#7

byarchitec


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 27, 2004
11 Posts
No Rating


Mr. Spot, Thank you for your last advise. But I cannot bind the new dwg. I take the Revit file choose export rename it and select view/sheet (which I check the appropriate one. I then open 1 of the new dwg's that have been created. I type in xref and once I am in xref manager there is nothing to select. I am given no files or xrefs to choose in the xref manager window so nothing can be bound. Do you have any ideas? Paul

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 30, 2004 at 2:39:52 PM | RE: Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

#8

byarchitec


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 27, 2004
11 Posts
No Rating


Mr. Spot, Is my problem w/ the method of exporting? Have I corrctly formatted my Revit file before export? Paul

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 30, 2004 at 10:10:09 PM | RE: Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

#9

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


No your method is fine. Your opening the wrong file. You need to open the sheet file, you can tell my the size of the file also, sheet files will be typically around 40-50K where is the others will be inexcess of 500KB. Make sure you open the sheet file then type xref and bind...

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Oct 2, 2004 at 5:44:57 AM | RE: Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

#10

byarchitec


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 27, 2004
11 Posts
No Rating


Mr. Spot, Thank you it seems to have solved the problem! Paul

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Trouble w/ exporting to AutoCad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 20, 2011 at 5:18:07 PM

8

exporting to AutoCad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 at 6:24:08 PM

3

Exporting Layouts in to AutoCAD / piping issue...

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 4, 2008 at 9:12:10 PM

9

exporting to autocad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 31, 2012 at 12:35:41 PM

4

exporting to autocad

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Jan 30, 2007 at 5:32:22 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1566588

Objects:

21426

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3314

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights