RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

259 Users Online (122 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Wall line thicknesses

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jul 21, 2006 at 3:10:33 PM | Wall line thicknesses

#1

bi11


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 6, 2006
12 Posts
No Rating


Please help as its driving me mad.. i have created numerous different wall types for example a domestic cavity wall. when viewed with line thicknesses it always assumes that i want the outer line and inner line to be the thick ones. this is almost never the case as i have plaster on the internal skin (which i would like as a thin line) and sometimes render on the outer skin (which again i would like as a thin line) does anybody know how to manipulate the lines that make up the wall individually??? thanks in advance

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 21, 2006 at 3:26:40 PM | RE: Wall line thicknesses

#2

krmccurdy


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2005
33 Posts
No Rating


Go to Settings>Object Styles

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 21, 2006 at 3:49:27 PM | RE: Wall line thicknesses

#3

bi11


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 6, 2006
12 Posts
No Rating


that doesn't help a great deal as it only allows me to change the line thincknesses on all the internal lines or the two external lines. i need to change specific lines thicknesses individually

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jul 22, 2006 at 10:29:25 AM | RE: Wall line thicknesses

#4

Dho01


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 4, 2005
11 Posts
No Rating


You have to go in Visibility/Graphics. In Model Categories, on the right, down, you have "Override Host Layers" Tick "Cut line Style" and then you can click on "Edit". And there you have the opportunity to choose the line thickness for each function in the wall. Very useful, but you have to know where it is !!!!! I work with a french version, so i hope the terms of the revit menus i used in english are correct ! Good luck

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 24, 2006 at 8:20:53 AM | RE: Wall line thicknesses

#5

bi11


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 6, 2006
12 Posts
No Rating


thanks Dho01 but even with that i still have a problem. that functionality only allows me to change all the walls in the project. Example External cavity walls and block walls i want to show in a thick line internal stud partitions i want to show as thin lines both wall elements are on the same category (ie structure(4)) so it seems impossible to change them independantly.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 24, 2006 at 8:41:00 AM | RE: Wall line thicknesses

#6

Dho01


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 4, 2005
11 Posts
No Rating


OK i see... I think that it is impossible. The way i use to show stud partitions in thin lines is to create it in an other function than "structural". I think it is the only way...

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 24, 2006 at 8:43:41 AM | RE: Wall line thicknesses

#7

bi11


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 6, 2006
12 Posts
No Rating


i was worried you might say that...... thanks for your help

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 24, 2006 at 11:04:14 AM | RE: Wall line thicknesses

#8

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


Have you tried assigning the line wieghts in object styles like krmccurdy suggested? The best way might be to do this inside the family unless it is a wall otherwise all structural elements are families so you can edit it inside your family.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall join at ends of two walls with different thicknesses

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 17, 2014 at 6:21:31 PM

2

DIFFERENT LINE THICKNESSES FOR STRUCTURAL FRAMING ELEMENTS IN SECTION

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 28, 2010 at 12:16:14 PM

1

dimensioning walls with variable thicknesses

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Jan 19, 2006 at 10:58:32 PM

2

wall thicknesses not adding up! (2+2=5?!?!)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 6, 2012 at 8:18:53 PM

3

Generic Model - Wall Based - Model wont align to different Wall Thicknesses

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jul 10, 2011 at 11:23:23 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1469016

Objects:

20536

Forum Posts:

150615

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9093

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights