RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

95 Users Online (94 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Can we set our own constraints and if yes how?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Sep 26, 2004 at 11:48:16 PM | Can we set our own constraints and if yes how?

#1

ale02


active
ale02 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Sep 19, 2004
202 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


Hi all, Just want to ask whether we can set our own customized constraints to our create-in-place family for example: certain metal roofing sheets, minimum pitch recommended by some manufacturers is 2 degree and some are 3 degree or more, after we create the roofing sheets families, can we set the constraints to the roofing sheets so that it will prompt error message when the roof pitch we work on in project for that particular roofing sheet we created is less than minimum pitch? Thanks first

This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 27, 2004 at 12:52:34 AM | RE: Can we set our own constraints and if yes how?

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Conditional formulas are possible in revit (ie: IF, NOT, etc). For instance i've previously setup integers so i can have two elements occupying the same space in a family however they can't both be visible at the same time. I suppose you could setup a greater than or equal to formula to DEFINE the angles, however you cannot CONSTRAIN the values and have it report an error. Personally i think it would be simpler to just add a text parameter in your family that lets you know the minimum pitch. My 2 cents. Post edited on 2004-09-27 00:54:38

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Sep 27, 2004 at 12:56:32 AM | RE: Can we set our own constraints and if yes how?

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


There is a workaround for greater than and less than or equal to formulas as well. See below: IF - with "A" less then or equal to "B" - current work around IF ( NOT ( A > B ) , 8 , 3 )

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Mar 16, 2005 at 7:50:00 AM | RE: Can we set our own constraints and if yes how?

#4

Owjan


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 8, 2005
14 Posts
No Rating


Hi! Mr spot, can you show me how to setup integers so i can have two elements occupying the same space in a family however they can't both be visible at the same time? Regards Owjan

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Setting Default Wall Constraints

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 5, 2007 at 2:45:05 PM

6

Finding my height constraints.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 15, 2010 at 1:21:00 PM

1

Can we set our own constraints and if yes how?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 31, 2005 at 9:06:01 AM

7

Constraints Are Not Satisfied when opening file - Revit Architecture 2008

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 27, 2008 at 9:46:30 AM

2

Remove Constraints from Deleted Objects

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 26, 2008 at 4:44:57 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

2010670

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152200

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.6049

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights