RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

353 Users Online (164 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> New member's first question

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Sep 23, 2004 at 8:08:11 PM | New member's first question

#1

Redrose


Joined: Thu, Sep 23, 2004
23 Posts
No Rating


Hi, Just got Revit and I have a question which, as yet, defeats me. Can Revit create a cavity wall "around" a steel colum to create a brick pier without having to create two single-skinned walls? I have included a picture. Thanks in adbvance.

Attached Images

Corner Pier detail copy.gif

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 23, 2004 at 10:26:45 PM | RE: New member's first question

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I really think the best method would be to create a single skinned brick wall around the column as you first thought. If you setup the brick as priority 4 or 5 finish layer (in both wall types) they will trim together properly.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Sep 24, 2004 at 12:23:13 AM | RE: New member's first question

#3

Priority


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 18, 2003
40 Posts
No Rating


There is a "column" buttom in your left menu. Its under the "Modeling" tab. You can automaticly make furring/cavity around columns. The fact that you can't attach wall sweeps to it is the only problem I see. I usually handle any detailing that's needed with a callout and its alot easier to move around. Post edited on 2004-09-23 19:24:54

Attached Images

CavityCol.gif

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 24, 2004 at 10:34:34 AM | RE: New member's first question

#4

Redrose


Joined: Thu, Sep 23, 2004
23 Posts
No Rating


Thanks, the column gives me a pier on the wall corner, but how do I set the automatic cavity around the column. Sorry if I'm a bit thick but I can't find it.

This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 26, 2004 at 5:07:10 PM | RE: New member's first question

#5

Priority


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 18, 2003
40 Posts
No Rating


Those columns are families created outside the project. FILE >>>> NEW >>>> FAMILY >>> and create a column as an extrusion with the center cut away. the family template you're looking for is "Column.rft". You can set parameters to this to control wall thickness and all that good parametric stuff. Again this method is just an option try it out. See attached Post edited on 2004-09-26 12:38:17 Post edited on 2004-09-26 12:38:29 Post edited on 2004-09-26 12:46:18

This user is offline

 

Sun, Sep 26, 2004 at 5:45:14 PM | RE: New member's first question

#6

Priority


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 18, 2003
40 Posts
No Rating


As shown

Attached Images

cavitycol2.gif

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 29, 2004 at 12:00:13 PM | RE: New member's first question

#7

Redrose


Joined: Thu, Sep 23, 2004
23 Posts
No Rating


Priority, that looks superb, thanks for taking the trouble. I'm trying to replicate what you did and I'm sure I'll get there. At least now I know it's possible. Cheers.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 8, 2004 at 3:19:36 PM | RE: New member's first question - still struggling(!)

#8

Redrose


Joined: Thu, Sep 23, 2004
23 Posts
No Rating


Hi all, esp. Mr. Priority Sorry to bother you, but your help with the brick piers and cavity wall intersections was very encouraging. Problem is I still can't get my head around it. Believe me I have tried. I have played around with wall layer priorities, tried to make a family, intersected a cavity wall with a single layer wall and a multi-layer wall with a very thin core (etc. etc.). I also tried to make a family of columns with a hollow centre but I could not seem to allocate wall-type material i.e. have it multi-layered like a regular wall. In the attached picture I assigned the outer brick of the wall to be priority 5 and the brick of the pier to be 5. I got the trimming behaviour that you see here. Obviously I also need the red shaded areas to be removed to achieve what I need. If you can help me any further I'd be very grateful. Thanks. Mark (Redrose). Post edited on 2004-10-08 10:21:44 Post edited on 2004-10-08 10:23:20

Attached Images

Image4.gif

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 8, 2004 at 5:06:22 PM | RE: New member's first question

#9

Priority


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 18, 2003
40 Posts
No Rating


I guess I could have explained a little more on How to. Sorry. This worked for me when I had multiple columns place throughout the structure. Some on corners and some….well…you know and they had some type of décor on them. Again this is just an option.

Attached Images

columexp.gif

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Custom Family that has user imputs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 22, 2009 at 12:15:15 AM

0

How to Apply Wood Material to a New Family Member [ 1 2 ]

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Jul 13, 2009 at 7:18:09 PM

15

Member Options

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 2, 2015 at 12:50:48 PM

1

New guy with question

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Dec 28, 2007 at 3:38:28 PM

3

Adding Base/Top Constraint to Family Member

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 10:16:39 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1708543

Objects:

22272

Forum Posts:

151787

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9636

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights