RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

291 Users Online (134 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> symbolic lines

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Oct 28, 2003 at 10:58:21 PM | symbolic lines

#1

SteveB


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 25, 2003
411 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Is there a way to change the lineweight of a symbolic line? I can only get them to plot at the thinnest possible lineweight. Also the lineweights of various lines in components, such as the electrical fixtures like duplex outlets, switches etc. These are families where the lines are created as symbolic lines. Thanks.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Oct 31, 2003 at 6:52:55 PM | RE: symbolic lines

#2

Priority


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 18, 2003
40 Posts
No Rating


Visibility sets the display for each view by filtering out a particular class of items added to the model. These classes are group into categories and subcategories which have similar function and use in the project. The category is the division in this class and the subcategory is the property of a family that defines its display. By creating a subcategory, and modifying line weight, line color, and line pattern, a user can control how elements in the project are viewed. When creating families always create a subcategory by picking "object styles" located in you settings menu, you can control your visibility a lot better. Example: Category=casework Subcategory= base cabinet Example: Category=electrical fixture Subcategory=junction box In your project you are now able to control the line weight of any piece of casework that has the object style of base cabinet in the project.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 31, 2003 at 7:05:15 PM | RE: symbolic lines

#3

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


This is very good advice. The usability and efficiency of revit is only as good as the families you use. I think it is extremely important that families are created correctly to provide the greatest degree of manipulation -hj-

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Nov 1, 2003 at 2:35:39 PM | RE: symbolic lines

#4

SteveB


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 25, 2003
411 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


What about the display characteristics of things that are already created. Example in question is the display of an electrical duplex outlet created by Revit: Outlet-Duplex:Single which prints and displays at linewt 1. I'd like to change that: if you open the family separately and clik on a line, the "element properties" window shows the subcategory but not the category. Where is the "category" selection? Best- Steve

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 3, 2003 at 2:40:40 PM | RE: symbolic lines

#5

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


the "category" is most likely "electrical fixtures" go to settings/object styles...modify the lineweight for "electrical fixtures" -hj-

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jul 14, 2006 at 1:15:41 AM | RE: symbolic lines

#6

tomdbiggs


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 19, 2005
4 Posts
No Rating


This is something that I've been wondering about for some time. I finally figured it out, and no you can't just change electrical fixtures linetype under object styles to make the switch symbols and other electrical symbols heavier. In fact, the correct answer to this question is that you have to click the tab "annotation objects". Then scroll down to "generic annotations" and change the lineweight to something heavier. I changed it to 5 and it looks good. For less confusion, let's only post tried and tested how-to instructions to help each other in a more direct way.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Symbolic Lines and Model Lines

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Wed, Mar 22, 2006 at 6:52:17 PM

0

Symbolic lines

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 26, 2006 at 8:24:22 AM

2

Windows above the Cutplane and Symbolic Lines (Revit2010)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 14, 2010 at 12:35:42 PM

4

Symbolic Lines Variation in Family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 15, 2007 at 7:33:21 PM

3

Symbolic lines in elevation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 11, 2008 at 1:12:53 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1457190

Objects:

20593

Forum Posts:

150674

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3206

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights