RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

288 Users Online (134 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Explode Families?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 6:21:25 PM | Explode Families?

#16

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Just don't build it in-place or you'll hurt your processing speed.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 11:07:02 PM | bauhaus1919

#17

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting bauhaus1919 from 2008-07-09 07:07:25

"I seriously hope he's not worried about 150k. The friend that I reference had a 9GB family drop to 3GB. Now that's a chunk of file-size worth spending a few moments to recover."

Well, im’ my case I could have 100's of these families so if I can reduce file size on each 1 then I make the main file more workable for the other guys. Every little bit helps. It’s pretty stupid not to make your families economical.



Edited on: Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 6:07:33 PM

-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 11:35:34 PM | Explode Families?

#18

psemrau


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 11, 2008
42 Posts
No Rating


There is a dead horse kicking here... 

Back to the topic,

Families -if properly created- have objects, masses and geometries that relate to a skeleton of reference planes that may be tied to parameters, which help you make family types.

They also include reference walls/floors/faces/etc. for insertion, and they have an origin point and all sorts of relative constraints and stuff in them... that makes them "flexible" unlike Autocad blocks or Revit groups that is just a bunch of objects in a certain array.

If you were to explode them, all the skeleton, parameters, relative constraints and family types would make no sense in the project, and all the objects that make the family wouldn't have anything to relate to. Making it imposible to create the family.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 12:01:16 AM | Explode Families?

#19

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


You calling me a dead horse???

Smile



Edited on: Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 7:01:48 PM

-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 5:31:16 AM | KennyGee

#20

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Quoting KennyGee from 2008-07-09 18:07:02

"

Well, im’ my case I could have 100's of these families so if I can reduce file size on each 1 then I make the main file more workable for the other guys. Every little bit helps. It’s pretty stupid not to make your families economical.

Edited on: Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 6:07:33 PM"

 

It's also pretty stupid to waste time stripping out beneficial family features for minimal gains. There's got to be a point of diminishing returns...BUT, if you actually have hundreds (plural) of families that:

A. ...are so important that they need to be in your template (main file?)

B. ...are so important that the parametrics are worth rebuilding OR not so important that they are worth tossing.

C. ...aren't time-sensitive (model changes, new products, etc.) so the process isn't cyclical

D. ...you are willing to take weeks to manual-explode them through every nested tier individually.

...well, then more power to you. Just remember when you are determining how "economical" this is, that you don't forget the "cost" part of a cost-benefit analysis. Every case/person/project/office is different, so what I said may not apply to you, but just because my point was expressed flippantly, doesn't mean it wasn't valid.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 5:34:17 AM | Explode Families?

#21

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I forgot the smiley on that.

Smile

...there you go.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 6:41:23 AM | Explode Families?

#22

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I agree with you Bauhaus1919

All my families that I have build are future proof in regards to model changes etc and have multiple family types and parameters.

To be honest I’m a newbie that Revit but I’m an old hat at very large projects so I always look at the bigger picture in regards to file workability. Generally its the Revit manage who gets kicked in the teeth if the files are so chunky that they are difficult to work with - which is why I wanted to reduce file sizes.

In our case we have set up multiple template files for each of our larger clients with all relevant families loaded in – but even then this could total 200+ families.  In this case we are testing separating our fixture families out into a separate file then just link it in.

We are still in discussions whether we go back and change the majority of our families that are used in a large multi-level retail project to be non-nested families to ensure the central file is manageable – but as you said this could take weeks.

Finally, I join these forums to get ideas of other Revit users.  Obviously there is not a single right way of constructing families etc within Revit – I suppose you go with the method that works for you.  I personally value every1’s opinions and ideas as a method of education.

Cheers

Smile 


-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 1:28:00 PM | Explode Families?

#23

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I think the problem when people talk about "speed" in revit that they aren't really defining what they need.  Im completely guessing on some of this but i've been using revit for a while and If im wrong please correct.

 

1.  Save to central speed.  This is slowed down by adding large families, more views etc, but if the familiy is already in the file then I don't see how it would slow things down.  It seems that the more project errors and changes matter more for save to central then actual family sizes.

 

2. processing speed.  This is affected by the number of links/parameters/etc that have to be calculated in order for revit to do anything. i.e. if a hundred floors are attached that that wall you are moving then revit has to recalculate all those floors too.

 

3. screen refresh speed.  affected by file size, poly counts, and computer hardware.  This is where if you have curved surfaces with billions of polys in 3-d then your graphics card is working pretty curse hard to refresh the screen and your processor is bogging down pretty hard trying to feed it. 


-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Sat, Mar 17, 2018 at 3:16:46 PM | Explode Families?

#24

Leipert


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 2, 2014
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Solved!

I made a short video on how to import Project Files from Revit into other Revit Projects.  See link below!

https://youtu.be/l9QTGh5LraQ

 

Additionally, you can edit family files for 3D purposes, but it you wanted to rework the linkwork in 2D- I recommend using a clipping mask and detail lines to show the relationships (on lets say a construction detail) correctly.   In this case no explosion is necesarry.  Video on this below:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NseoXLinL24 

 

Enjoy!

 

-Dan

Edited on: Sat, Mar 17, 2018 at 10:17:40 AM



Edited on: Sat, Mar 17, 2018 at 10:18:16 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 21, 2018 at 10:47:47 PM | Explode Families?

#25

surfingjp


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 18, 2010
0 Posts
No Rating


I would like a Box link to that 3GB family when it is done.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 2 of 2 | << Previous 1 | 2



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Can't explode in 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 17, 2009 at 9:13:21 PM

1

How to explode anonmeetric walls for detail drawings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 28, 2014 at 11:04:59 AM

10

Autocad 3d solids dissapear once I 'full explode' the model in Revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 2:07:12 AM

4

import & explode dwg detail

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 28, 2006 at 4:08:04 PM

1

linking from acad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 15, 2005 at 5:43:42 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1457190

Objects:

20593

Forum Posts:

150674

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3029

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights