RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

301 Users Online (151 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Explode Families?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Sat, Jul 8, 2006 at 7:28:18 PM | Explode Families?

#1

JRkitekt


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 10, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


Does anyone know a way to explode famies?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 1, 2008 at 10:56:09 PM | Explode Families?

#2

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Same here

I’m keen to find out if there is a way to explode already placed families within a family file.  For example, I have a heap of nested families that I want to reduce there file size so I want to explode the nested component.   Otherwise I have to cut and paste each component (from other family files) to make up my families.

There must be an easier way??? 


-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 2, 2008 at 7:43:16 AM | Explode Families?

#3

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


There is no way of exploding a family as far as I'm aware.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 2, 2008 at 3:00:35 PM | Explode Families?

#4

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


no explode no xplode nnnnnooooooooo

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 2, 2008 at 5:11:20 PM | Explode Families?

#5

psemrau


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 11, 2008
42 Posts
No Rating


That I know... it can't be done, not even copy-paste the elements between family and project....

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 2, 2008 at 11:09:43 PM | Explode Families?

#6

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I was able to copy elements from my family file to another family file.

I recreated 1 of my many nested families to a non-nested family.  The non-nested family was half the size.  Thanks RTC 


-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jul 4, 2008 at 1:09:25 PM | Explode Families?

#7

Elmo


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 19, 2006
144 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


There is only one way of 'copying' across a solid across from a family to a project and vice versa. What you need to do is edit your extrusion and copy the lines with ctrl-c. Then inside your project you need to create a similar process by starting the extrusion and going ctrl-v to paste the lines across. This is essentially the only process that I am aware of that will do what you need to have done.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 3:16:59 AM | Explode Families?

#8

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I'm with trayrider, just say no to splodes. Nested families are some of my favorite kinds. A friend of mine has been experimenting with compaction and purging of nest families and reloading them through all nested sequences and into the project. He claims up to 2/3 reductions in file size and tangible performance gains. Might be something to try, expecially since it might keep a loving family from being ripped apart.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 11:33:08 AM | Explode Families?

#9

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


purge yes, explode no.  I really doubt that the familiy size going from 300kb to 150kb or whatever is really going to help the speed of revit, but the loss of control over a familiy is real tangible time that can be lost when it needs to be changed.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 12:07:25 PM | Explode Families?

#10

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I seriously hope he's not worried about 150k. The friend that I reference had a 9GB family drop to 3GB. Now that's a chunk of file-size worth spending a few moments to recover.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 1:45:11 PM | Explode Families?

#11

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


What in gods name could be in a 3gb family????!?!?!?!?!

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 2:33:19 PM | Explode Families?

#12

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


sorry, couldn't help myself...

 

I think he was building a pretty complicated section of stadium seating. External makes it a LOT easier to edit. In hind-sight, probably would have been better as a separate Revit project file linked in.



Edited on: Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 9:34:39 AM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 3:53:03 PM | Explode Families?

#13

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


yea but revit isn't even 3gb let alone a singular family.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 4:05:18 PM | Explode Families?

#14

bauhaus1919


active
bauhaus1919 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 20, 2006
219 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


true, i meant megs not gigs...but the "your mom" is funnier with gigs.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 5:24:33 PM | Explode Families?

#15

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


now I want to make a 3gb family and put it in our standard template.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Can't explode in 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 17, 2009 at 9:13:21 PM

1

How to explode anonmeetric walls for detail drawings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 28, 2014 at 11:04:59 AM

10

Autocad 3d solids dissapear once I 'full explode' the model in Revit

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 2:07:12 AM

4

import & explode dwg detail

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 28, 2006 at 4:08:04 PM

1

linking from acad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 15, 2005 at 5:43:42 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1463210

Objects:

20996

Forum Posts:

150943

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0530

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights