RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

37 Users Online (36 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Roof Slopes

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Sep 21, 2004 at 8:05:11 AM | Roof Slopes

#1

EdArch


active

Joined: Mon, May 3, 2004
10 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Hello all, just another quick query regarding the home I'm currently working on ( http://www.geocities.com/simmakkinen/SingleFamilyHome-04.html ), I'm having trouble making the roof slope to one side only (as illustrated). I've tried editing the roof once complete and dragging it here and there yet it just won't go where I want it to go! can anyone offer any help? many thanks Eddie

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 21, 2004 at 9:10:21 AM | RE: Roof Slopes

#2

Mr GG


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
184 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I have difficulties to understand what you want to have just showing a facade of your house. You better show at least two facades and some sections. Or/And you better upload an image from Revit showing what you are aiming at. Perhaps this is what you want to have? Have a look at the image. It is done with two slopes on opposite sides and a slope arrow in between.

Attached Images

roof01.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 21, 2004 at 9:31:52 AM | RE: Roof Slopes

#3

Mr GG


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
184 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I was a little too ambitious describing Roof1. You do not have to use any slope arrow. Just make sloopes on three sides. Here is another try - Roof2 - that "curves gently". Perhaps this is what you are trying to get? It is made with Modelling > Create > Solid > Extrude and then Void > Extrude Have a look at the image.

Attached Images

roof02.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 21, 2004 at 7:13:46 PM | RE: Roof Slopes

#4

EdArch


active

Joined: Mon, May 3, 2004
10 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


in a way, bot of those are what I'm afte, have a look at the images I up loaded to my Geocities site: Rendering 1 - http://www.geocities.com/simmakkinen/NMFH02_roof1.jpg Rendering 2 - http://www.geocities.com/simmakkinen/NMFH02_roof2.jpg (both above are drafts done in Maya) Rendering 3 - http://www.geocities.com/simmakkinen/SFH02_3D-View.jpg Iso Plan - http://www.geocities.com/simmakkinen/SFH02_roof3.jpg (both above from Revit) I hope that gives you a better picture of what I want thanks for your help Eddie

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 21, 2004 at 7:15:58 PM | PS..

#5

EdArch


active

Joined: Mon, May 3, 2004
10 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


If it isn't possible to have the roof overhanging so much, not to worry but that kind of profile/overall shape is what I'm after Smile cheers Eddie

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 21, 2004 at 7:59:44 PM | RE: Roof Slopes

#6

Mr GG


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
184 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I hope I have got what you are looking for. Go to Modelling > Create Choose Solid > Sweep And then on the menu Tools > Work Plane > Set Work Plane and Pick a Plane and I clicked the facade and got a work plane for the path. I choose Sketch 2D Path and draw a line then Finish Path and click Sketch Profile and you have to sketch a proflle for the roof. Hope you have got it!

Attached Images

roof03.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 21, 2004 at 8:20:27 PM | RE: Roof Slopes

#7

Mr GG


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
184 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Just a little more tips! After choosing Modelling > Create choose Roofs And then the roof is made you can use Attach to attach the walls you have selected to the roof by clicking the roof. To take a part away from the roof use Void > Extrude before you Finish the Family with the roof.

Attached Images

roof04.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 22, 2004 at 1:35:57 PM | RE: Roof Slopes

#8

EdArch


active

Joined: Mon, May 3, 2004
10 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


I hope I have got what you are looking for.
Go to Modelling > Create
Choose Solid > Sweep
And then on the menu Tools > Work Plane > Set Work Plane
and Pick a Plane
and I clicked the facade and got a work plane for the path.
I choose Sketch 2D Path and draw a line
then Finish Path
and click Sketch Profile
and you have to sketch a proflle for the roof.
Hope you have got it!

hmm I tried all this but I only seemed to get a line on one side of the building and a square in the middle of it...no roof!
Looking at the bldg I'm doing, which facade would you pick the plane on?
which view would you use to draw the path/profile....it tells me to do them in certain elevation views, and since there's only one view i can do this in, it won't let me skip to other views to draw the whole thing.
I've tried drawing "a line" for the profile and path, but it says "line open at one end" and when I draw a chain or box it places it in the middle of the floor I tried sketching the profile and path over the whole area/walls I want to cover but it says "sweep cannot be created"

I'm baffled and a tad bemused with a little bit of annoyed thrown in too...I've attached an image to give you an idea of what I'm getting when I DO get any results.


sorry to sound like a complete idiot but I spose its the only way I'm going to learn this!

Eddie

Attached Images

EdArch-SFH1.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 22, 2004 at 2:40:47 PM | RE: Roof Slopes

#9

EdArch


active

Joined: Mon, May 3, 2004
10 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


if it makes it any easier for the both of us (which I'm hoping it will), here's a .rar file with images of the elevations and floorplan for level 2. If you can, draw a blue line where you'd do the path and a red one for the profile. hopefully that should make both our lives more easy and let us keep our hair for a little longer! lol cheers for all your help Eddie

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 23, 2004 at 3:11:47 AM | RE: Roof Slopes

#10

Mr GG


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
184 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Hallo again! I have made a new tutorial and I hope you will understand a bit better now...

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 23, 2004 at 9:01:15 AM | RE: Roof Slopes

#11

EdArch


active

Joined: Mon, May 3, 2004
10 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


umm that really helped..I did all of that and got the shape I wanted and placement was perfect...BUT......when I'd done making the roof and went to click 'finish family' it told me it couldn't make it!!! I tried your 3-point arc with the top arc 9.5m wide at an angle of 46* and the lower arc same length at 23* I've tried with the roof overlapping and not overlapping the wall edges, same result, 'cannot make type - Roof 1' - Fromthe pictures in your tutorial it seems obvious that you clicked 'finish family' since you were able to go back to the main modelling tab on the design bar. what am I doing wrong? Eddie

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 23, 2004 at 12:21:54 PM | RE: Roof Slopes

#12

Mr GG


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
184 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


You do not say if Revit gives you some message... The first thing I am thinking about is that you have missed something when doing the Profile. You can not have intersecting lines pro example. And all the lines must be interconnected. Perhaps you can try with a simplier shape eg only a rectangle - no 3-point arc. And if that is alright you can do the Profile a little more complicated. I suppose that you use just a straigt line for the Path. You must have a straight line for the Path!!! Because if you are using a spline or ellipse for doing the Path you will get this message: Sweep cannot have a path with ellipse or spline segments and a profile with non-straight lines.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 24, 2004 at 9:03:32 AM | RE: Roof Slopes

#13

EdArch


active

Joined: Mon, May 3, 2004
10 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


The only message Revit gives me is "Cannot Create Type - Roof 1" there are a few sub-headers saying "Roofs 1 : ID 114076" but that's about it. Do you think it could be a software fault? I tried as you suggested with several other types of lines (straight, box, arc through 2 points) here's an image showing you as far as I can get, after this, the only thing I can do is click 'finish family' and wait for the error message

Attached Images

EdArch - Single Family Home 1.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 24, 2004 at 11:17:08 AM | RE: Roof Slopes

#14

Mr GG


active

Joined: Thu, May 13, 2004
184 Posts
3.5 Stars: 9 Votes


The only message Revit gives me is "Cannot Create Type - Roof 1" there are a few sub-headers saying "Roofs 1 : ID 114076" but that's about it. Do you think it could be a software fault?
I tried as you suggested with several other types of lines (straight, box, arc through 2 points)

here's an image showing you as far as I can get, after this, the only thing I can do is click 'finish family' and wait for the error messageShit!
Your image looks fine to me so I do not really understand,
My suggestion is that you use File > New to start a new project file(.rvt-file)
and have a try in that one.

I have looked in Help for error messages but it does not say anything.

And I pasted your error message into Google but found nothing.
If you serch in Google for - Revit error sweep - you get a lot of links
but I did not find anything good...

I have another suggestion a bit stupid but if anything else helps.
You dont need to create a roof ! You can choose whatever you want eg Entourage.
And have a try. If you succed you cannot attach the walls to the entourage
but you can edit the profile of the walls so it fits to the roof(entourage)
That was a bit of a stupid suggestion but I think you have to experiment...
I do not understand - everything looks fine on the image... but... shit!



This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

revit roof slopes

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, May 6, 2014 at 10:19:05 AM

1

Adding skylights and slopes to a roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 12, 2012 at 8:33:07 AM

4

roof issue (even roof valley slopes with uncentered drain locations)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 14, 2012 at 12:25:14 PM

3

roof slopes with skylight openings and notch

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 21, 2010 at 1:09:29 PM

11

compound slab or roof slopes

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 27, 2009 at 7:19:30 AM

7

Site Stats

Members:

2016503

Objects:

22942

Forum Posts:

152203

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4734

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights