RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

298 Users Online (141 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Select room tags; copy rooms to new phase

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jun 27, 2006 at 1:25:42 AM | Select room tags; copy rooms to new phase

#1

dakota


active

Joined: Sat, Jan 24, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


In Revit 9.0 room tags can no longer be isolated using IC (Isolate Category) command and copied to a new phase. Does anyone know an easy work-around to select room tags? I need to select all rooms and room tags to copy them to a new phase. Sometimes i need to select all room tags to change the room tag family for different views. Thank you.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 27, 2006 at 8:36:14 AM | RE: Select room tags; copy rooms to new phase

#2

puzzle


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 19, 2005
217 Posts
3.5 Stars: 8 Votes


You shouldn't need to copy them to a new phase. If you duplicate a view with detail they will be in that duplicated plan. Then change the view properties.

-----------------------------------

Macca

Sunshine Coast

QLD Australia

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 27, 2006 at 9:36:33 PM | RE: Select room tags; copy rooms to new phase

#3

dakota


active

Joined: Sat, Jan 24, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


are you working in Revit 9? The rooms are now linked to a phase, rooms and tags no longer copy automatically if you change the phase. i think it is an enhancement with unintended consequences. If you copy a plan and then change the phase, the rooms and tags disappear. As far as I can tell you have to select and copy the rooms back in from the previous phase and then re-tag every room. Rooms and tags cannot be isolated using IC. I hope I'm wrong about this.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 28, 2006 at 3:16:35 AM | RE: Select room tags; copy rooms to new phase

#4

Steve_Stafford


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 12, 2003
114 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Rooms are phase aware and only exist in one phase, they always have. If you place rooms in a view assigned to one phase and change the view to another phase the room and tag disappear but they are NOT gone. Change the view back to the other phase and they reappear. This way a room schedule of existing rooms doesn't suddenly vanish from the project. In previous release different warnings were generated when you did this, now no warnings at all. They just turn off and return when the phase is reset. Room tags also don't appear when a view's crop region excludes the room's extents from the view. If you have documented existing rooms and tagged them in a view assigned to the existing phase and now want them to also appear in the next phase...just copy and paste the room AND room tag into the view after assigning the correct phase first. As a practice you are much better off setting up views for each relevant phase before placing rooms and tagging them. Then do so in the appropriate view. Also keep in mind that rooms are now an object and they are tagged just like other objects. If you select both the room and room tag you can use IC if that helps? When you use it on just the tag you are turning off the room category and the tag can't find its object anymore. Post edited on 2006-06-27 22:18:38 Post edited on 2006-06-27 22:19:52 Post edited on 2006-06-27 22:20:55

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 29, 2006 at 12:19:48 PM | RE: Select room tags; copy rooms to new phase

#5

dakota


active

Joined: Sat, Jan 24, 2004
39 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the tip on how to use IC to select rooms and room tags. That is a big help. Do you know of a way to select room tags only (in order to change the room tag family as a group)?

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Vanishing room tags

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 6, 2005 at 10:54:21 PM

1

Copy Architect's Room Tags?

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 31, 2008 at 7:08:41 AM

1

Want to see Room Tags but not Rooms

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 6, 2016 at 4:37:51 AM

2

Demo Plan Room Tags

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 2:24:39 AM

4

Room Tags -

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 30, 2018 at 4:26:10 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1553046

Objects:

21384

Forum Posts:

151413

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1153

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights