RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

316 Users Online (158 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Aligning family in a project

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Mar 24, 2021 at 11:32:31 PM | Aligning family in a project

#1

simon1688


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


I have created a clamp family, the clamps can be at varying heights and I would like to insert into a project and use the align command to control the heights of the clamps instead of say using a instance parameter is this possible?

I can only get the whole family to move up and down using the align I would like to align each clamp at different levels if possible?


-----------------------------------

Revit 2014 user

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 25, 2021 at 12:37:33 PM | Aligning family in a project

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


You say the whole family moves up / down with the clamp.  From that I assume you mean the family must be hung from the structure above and you want just the clamp portion to move.  You still need an instance parameter with the family hosted to the structure above and the instanhce controlling the drop down of the clamp.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 26, 2021 at 8:42:10 AM | Aligning family in a project

#3

simon1688


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


I have instances parameters but when I use the align is moving the whole family up and down maybe because I am using a nested family in the family?


-----------------------------------

Revit 2014 user

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 29, 2021 at 6:46:55 PM | Aligning family in a project

#4

hanbyjm


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 3, 2018
0 Posts
No Rating


Did you make sure the dimensions for the instance parameters are attached to the reference planes and not other objects?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Self aligning text in a family

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 25, 2010 at 3:50:38 PM

0

Drawing length of family in project?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 11, 2008 at 12:00:32 AM

3

Adding / Aligning Legends to multiple sheets

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Fri, Oct 17, 2014 at 2:03:43 PM

2

ALIGNING ANGLED FAMILY TO THE HORIZONTAL REFERENCE LINE

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 11, 2014 at 12:31:57 AM

5

Aligning Grout Lines in Render Materials

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 16, 2011 at 12:47:21 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1605360

Objects:

21955

Forum Posts:

151570

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3600

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights