RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

235 Users Online (110 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> RTE vs RVT

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Sep 26, 2019 at 3:10:14 PM | RTE vs RVT

#1

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Can someone please reiterate to me the advantage of starting a project with an RTE vs an RVT ? I can come up with advantages of using an RVT over an RTE but not the other way around. There must be a compelling reason but I cannot put my finger on it. Anyone ?


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 26, 2019 at 4:00:15 PM | RTE vs RVT

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 344 Votes


Sure, you could create a project file (RVT) and use that to start new projects but the differece between that and using a template file (RTE) is simply stated in an Autodesk answer "When you click on Save, you will not be allowed to overwrite the template file".... but you could acidentally overwrite your RTV project file you were using as a template file.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 26, 2019 at 4:13:16 PM | RTE vs RVT

#3

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Ok thanks, so the only upside to using RTE over RVT as a project startup is the "danger of somehow over writing the original RVT file" ?? Really ? Becasue there are lots of functional advantages of using the RVT over the RTE as a startup right and it's a very easy fix to ensure the original RVT file does not get over written. Plus you can have Worksets, placeholder links etc pre-stablished. . .  


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 26, 2019 at 4:49:43 PM | RTE vs RVT

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 344 Votes


I agree dgcad with your thoughts about the advantages of having worksets and placeholder links.  That would be advantageous. Maybe the problem here is the dummy down approach.  If you have really good control of your staff the rvt file is not a problem but I don't think the majority of the offices has that. 

We always used the rte but we could have used the rvt since our templates were in a locked file with read only access to all but a couple of users.  Using a rvt file in that case would have demanded a copy operation at startup rather than an open and thus the over-write could not happen.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 26, 2019 at 7:16:14 PM | RTE vs RVT

#5

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Yes exactly. I'm setting up a new office and I am suggesting they go *.RVT and keep the base file in a read only folder and copy it and recreate the new central file in the project folder. Thanks for your input. Anyone else interested in chiming in please feel free to share your expperience.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Sep 27, 2019 at 2:21:04 AM | RTE vs RVT

#6

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


 

It depends on each office. We are using RTE.

 

Our template has minimum settings and families. This will make to RTE file to a reasonable size, and no junks.

 

All our families such as doors, windows, railings, details are in their own separate files.

 

We are a state agency, which is a self-certified entity. Building codes are the minimum standards, and due to our mission, we have to setup a much higher standards. Our Design Guidelines (DG) are updated annually, which means our details need to be revised and updated every year in order to comply with the most current DG. In some cases, through the code determination process, we even do not have to follow the building codes.

If we are using RVTs, then each project might have lots of out-of-date families, details, and have to be cleaned out.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit Template File from Project file .rvt to .rte

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Apr 28, 2013 at 6:35:39 AM

3

.Rte - View Template Settings - Reset Linked .Rvt Graphic Overrides

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 10, 2009 at 8:19:03 PM

2

Use .rte object in my .rvt

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 4, 2015 at 6:44:24 PM

1

Cannot get the Mechanical-Default_Metric.rte template to load

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 9, 2012 at 7:30:21 AM

6

save as from template to rvt

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 16, 2012 at 12:31:16 AM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1390615

Objects:

20298

Forum Posts:

150343

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0988

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights