RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

133 Users Online (44 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Offset of the Wall foundation from the wall in Height

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, May 11, 2019 at 11:13:42 AM | Offset of the Wall foundation from the wall in Height

#1

emimari


active

Joined: Wed, May 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi,

I'm aiming to get a quite accurate BIM model so I wanted to make water isolation as a One Layer Floor. But now the foundation wall cuts it and that's not how it should be presented. I wanted to offset the wall from the foundation in its height but that's not possible. Have any of you encountered such a problem and solved it? Maybe you have some other workflow with which I could implement that?

 

Regards,

Emilia



Attached Images

159361_2019-05-111311.png

This user is offline

 

Sat, May 11, 2019 at 12:17:43 PM | Offset of the Wall foundation from the wall in Height

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 337 Votes


I don't see what you are talking about. 

If you mean you need to see a heavy line under the wall, you will have to modify this. 


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 11, 2019 at 5:48:54 PM | Offset of the Wall foundation from the wall in Height

#3

emimari


active

Joined: Wed, May 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


The heavy live is a floor with 0,5 cm thickness and I can't see a way to serepate the wall from the wall foundation


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 11, 2019 at 9:11:17 PM | Offset of the Wall foundation from the wall in Height

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 337 Votes


The wall does not cut this.  It is joined and therfore each edge line is a thinner line.


This user is offline

 

Sun, May 12, 2019 at 12:17:15 AM | Offset of the Wall foundation from the wall in Height

#5

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 20 Votes


I think you’re over modeling this detail. I’d show the waterstop in section view only, as a detail element. The footing (structural foundation object) is attached to the wall and it cannot be separated.

If you really need to model it, use a basic wall for your footing instead of structural foundation wall. Apply a sweep as your waterstop membrane on top of the wall – see picture.

 

Pozdrawiam!



Attached Images

159366_FOOTING.png

This user is offline

 

Sun, May 12, 2019 at 10:14:12 AM | Offset of the Wall foundation from the wall in Height

#6

emimari


active

Joined: Wed, May 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Yeah, I agree that I may be overmodeling but on the other hand I want to have a quite precise model for the material takeoff. Modeling it as the wall sweep could be the solution because I will see that in the schedule but on the other hand I loose the information about structural element of the footing (modelling it as a wall when it's not) and I multiply the number of walls in the project. What's you usual workflow for this element?


This user is offline

 

Sun, May 12, 2019 at 2:59:09 PM | Offset of the Wall foundation from the wall in Height

#7

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 20 Votes


Apply the sweep to the bottom of your foundation wall then - not to the footing.

I always address it as a detail element in section view, but I do not do material takeoffs.

 

By the way, if you join your floor (waterstop) with the foundation wall, it will cut the wall, so I think you will get a detail that you're after.


This user is offline

 

Sun, May 12, 2019 at 7:43:11 PM | Offset of the Wall foundation from the wall in Height

#8

emimari


active

Joined: Wed, May 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I was doing the waterproof layer as Finish 1 Function, so that's why the wall was cutting it. Now I've changed it to Structure and it doesn't anymore. The floor doesn't have structural function turned on so it should be fine as the Construction Team won't see it as atructural element. Thanks for your help because it made me check this optionSmile

 

Pozdrawiam Smile


This user is offline

 

Sun, May 12, 2019 at 7:43:15 PM | Offset of the Wall foundation from the wall in Height

#9

emimari


active

Joined: Wed, May 7, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I was doing the waterproof layer as Finish 1 Function, so that's why the wall was cutting it. Now I've changed it to Structure and it doesn't anymore. The floor doesn't have structural function turned on so it should be fine as the Construction Team won't see it as atructural element. Thanks for your help because it made me check this optionSmile

 

Pozdrawiam Smile


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

WALL FOUNDATION CORNER

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 5, 2015 at 3:17:12 PM

1

Stepping foundation wall to follow grade

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 9, 2007 at 7:57:53 PM

2

ICF and wall aligment

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Oct 8, 2016 at 4:55:35 PM

2

splitting full height wall sections

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 28, 2010 at 7:13:15 PM

1

Placing Ext wall on foundation wall

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 1, 2011 at 4:17:56 PM

10

Site Stats

Members:

1340117

Objects:

20229

Forum Posts:

150199

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.5895

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights