RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

165 Users Online (95 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Roof Drain Tag that reads area automatically?? is it possible

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 2:14:14 PM | Roof Drain Tag that reads area automatically?? is it possible

#1

jsel13


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
67 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Has anyone been able to come up with a Roof Drain Tag that show the catchment area of the floor or roof its attached to?

i know its probably not possible, but thought i'd ask people who were smarter than i am. I've added a parameter to manually input the SF, but it would be awesome if it did it automatically

 

thanks!

 

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 19, 2019 at 10:11:55 PM | Roof Drain Tag that reads area automatically?? is it possible

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 335 Votes


All tags in Revit "READ' values from something they tag.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 20, 2019 at 4:06:39 AM | Roof Drain Tag that reads area automatically?? is it possible

#3

jsel13


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 5, 2008
67 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks for that really useful piece of knowledge, obviously all tags read something. I'm asking a specific question about a specific type of tag. 

 

If anyone can actually answer my question it would greatly be appreciated 

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 20, 2019 at 2:37:35 PM | Roof Drain Tag that reads area automatically?? is it possible

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 335 Votes


Maybe you don't understand.

Does your roof drain have the area it drains as a value?  Then the tag can be made to read that.

Tags do not calculate anything.  Watch this video on how a model element (in this case a room) can have a calculating, reporting parameter that is then read by a tag.  Since your drain really never associates with an area like a room does, then I doubt you will be able to do that.  However, if an area of your roof can be identified, you may be able to tag that.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P253SSMT2wE



Edited on: Sat, Apr 20, 2019 at 9:38:13 AM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Area Tag issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 12, 2006 at 3:45:15 PM

3

Help slope tag showing wrong slope

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 28, 2014 at 2:21:23 AM

2

Roof Drains

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 9, 2009 at 9:08:44 PM

2

Editing a room tag

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 12, 2017 at 8:17:41 PM

4

Roof Drains

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 4, 2015 at 7:42:33 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1281048

Objects:

20092

Forum Posts:

149971

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4875

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights