RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

169 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Project north rotated in a linked revit model

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Apr 1, 2019 at 2:48:08 PM | Project north rotated in a linked revit model

#1

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


Hello

So hopefully my question is a simple one, but it's tripping me up this morning. 

I've got a structural Revit model that has a linked in architectural revit model which is used as a background. Our architect needed to rotate the building 180 degress, so he rotated project north in his model then sent it over to us. So now, when I reload his new model into ours, the background building and it's location come in rotated by 180 degrees. Which is how it needs to be, but my question is, how do I get my modeled componets to match rotation and location? Becuase I've been working on the project for a few weeks, I've got walls and floor framing modeled in the location and orientation of the previously linked background model. If I rotate project north within my model, all of my walls and framing componets rotate to where the background model is currently, but the background model itself then rotates 180 degrees back. So basically my model and the background model stay 180 degrees separated from each other. Since the linked in model project north was rotated first, how do get my model "catch up" with the new location and rotation of the linked in model? 

 

Thanks in advance!!


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 1, 2019 at 6:49:14 PM | Project north rotated in a linked revit model

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 334 Votes


A couple of things that many users do not know. 

First - Say with project north up, your project is too long vertically to place it on sheets.  You can rotate the whole project but you can also just rotate the view.  If you use rotate view on the sheet, all of the text and annotations will rotate with the view. Typically not what we want.   To rotate the view, click on the view crop boundary and pick rotate, then rotate the boundry.  Note that all model elements, callouts, details, dimensions will rotate but annotations will remain in the same orientation relative to your monitor.  You may have to re-adjust your crop boundaries.  This will have to be done for every plan view if you want to use this.

 

Second - Understanding project north, survey points and how to set them.  For years, I have been recommending that you watch this:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BigvY4LT-RI  << It is still valid.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 4, 2019 at 2:29:29 PM | Project north rotated in a linked revit model

#3

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


WWHub, thanks for the response and video. The video was very informative, and I think I'll try to remember to set my project base point to a corner of the building for each new project going forward. My only question with that would be, if I set my model's project base point to a corner of my building, when I reload a new architectural background model is it going to come in the the wrong spot because the "origin to origin" setting?

 

In regards to my current situation which brought up the question. Is there anything I can do within my model to get my modeled objects to "catch up" to the new location and rotation of the linked architectural background? Or did my architect 'doom' my project by rotating his project north? Is there some other alternative that he could have done as an architect to not cause problems for others down the line? 

 

I guess I've now got a couple different questions going in one post, sorry about that. But this situation, and that video, have got my mind wondering as to how I should be setting up projects and coordinating with clients in the future. 

 

 



Edited on: Thu, Apr 4, 2019 at 9:33:15 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 4, 2019 at 3:37:07 PM | Project north rotated in a linked revit model

#4

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


Also, I feel like a should add that my project is not "doomed". I was able to simply unlolad & remove my linked background. Then rotate my project north and re-link the background back in, as if it was the first time. But I'm still asking the question more as a hypothetical now, just in case this comes up again in the future. And so I can relate to my architect client the proper way to rotate a project after it's been started and distributed to others for linking.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 4, 2019 at 6:18:50 PM | Project north rotated in a linked revit model

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 334 Votes


Coordination between professionals using Revit should always be at the top of discussions at project startup.  At our office, we always established the project orintation and base point then shared our model to our consultants for them to pick that up.  Another, even more important item, is what Revit release we were going to use.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 8, 2019 at 6:48:15 PM | Project north rotated in a linked revit model

#6

allstardrafter


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 4, 2008
28 Posts
No Rating


I agree coordination and communication are paramount. But in this situation, assuming the project must get rotated for whatever reason, is there any better way to do it? Thinking along the working chain of architect, down to the various consultants? I just felt kinda 'handcuffed' by the fact that my background model had changed and I didn't have any good option for 'catching up' to that change. I was just wondering if Revit structure had any way to realize that Project North had been rotated in the linked model, and coordinate to it. Instead, my backgound was just treated like an object within my model, and it got rotated along with everything else, when I changed my Project North. It didn't matter which I did first, if I rotated Project North first, then reloaded the model, it still brought the background in 180 degrees off. So clearly Revit structure can recognize where Project North is at between the 2 models. That's what makes me think there should be a way to coordinate to it, even after the fact. 

 

Luckily, as I stated, I was able to remove the link, then rotate my Project North, then re-link the background model and everything was fine. Would that just always be the way it has to be done? Are there ever times when a background model couldn't be unloaded and removed? Had that been the case, I don't know what I would have done. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Linked Revit model not importing in the correct orientation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 20, 2015 at 10:00:35 AM

2

Rotating project North in Revit 2013

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 29, 2014 at 6:16:53 PM

6

True and Project north

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 22, 2009 at 12:38:42 PM

1

Rotating views to project north

Community >> Newbies

Mon, May 28, 2007 at 8:46:10 PM

3

Rotate true north

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 24, 2018 at 10:20:59 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1264672

Objects:

20049

Forum Posts:

149896

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.2187

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights