RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

231 Users Online (109 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps >> IFC import to Revit '17, materials all grey

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Apr 1, 2019 at 11:58:31 AM | IFC import to Revit '17, materials all grey

#1

bradipetto


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 25, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi all,

 

My name is Fred, I'm not a Revit expert, I'm pretty much self taught.

 

I'm trying to work on a project that somebody else generated on Archicad. My task is to just make the render out of this project which is already finished.

 

I received a IFC file of the project that I can open on my Revit 2017, I can see the projects clearly with no defects, but I don't seem to be able to modify anything on it, like I said, I just need to render this project, so I don't need to change details and or dimensions. But still, it's kind of odd that I can't do almost anything at all with the elements of this small project.

 

The only information I need to be able to see is the materials that this guy assigned to all the objects. But when I go and render everything is plain grey, including all the windows, they're all just grey surfaces.

 

I looked around the forums, tried some options I read, such as saving it as .rvt and open it up again, but still, I seem to able to only change very little in the parameters. And even if I'm able to change the "material/finishes" in some of this "anonymous" object that compose the project, everything will still look plain grey when rendering.

 

When I accepted this rendering job I thought it would have been a relatively easy task to just work on the renders on somebody else Archicad work, but it doesn't look that simple anymore.

Am I doing something wrong on my side when importing this file? Or is the problem perhaps at the other end? I already told the Archicad guy about this issue and he sent another IFC that, he said, "should now work", but I don't see anything different...

 

Thanks in advance to all the community for the help.

 

Regards,

 

Fred


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 1, 2019 at 9:14:34 PM | IFC import to Revit '17, materials all grey

#2

oldtexas


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 30, 2007
5 Posts
No Rating


check phase.. all existing phase families render gray.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 6, 2019 at 10:01:59 AM | oldtexas

#3

bradipetto


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 25, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting oldtexas from 2019-04-01 16:14:34

"

check phase.. all existing phase families render gray.

"

Hi Oldtexas, 

Thanks for your reply. Can I ask you some directions on this?

It looks like all the objects are all on Phase 3 on this project that i'm importing and the Phase filter is set to Show Complete.

From here, what do I need to do in order to be able to "see" and render the objects that are part of this project with the materials and properties that the guy on Archicad assigned to them?

Fred


This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 6, 2019 at 10:08:21 AM | IFC import to Revit '17, materials all grey

#4

bradipetto


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 25, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I'm also starting to tthink that maybe the problem is at the other end, but not knowing myself Archicad at all I don't even know what to ask about the IFC export process to this other guy?

 

I have seen screenshot of renders he had done on archicad on this same project so the materials are there, but perhaps they're not on the exported IFC?

 

Fred


This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 6, 2019 at 10:08:24 AM | IFC import to Revit '17, materials all grey

#5

bradipetto


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 25, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


I'm also starting to tthink that maybe the problem is at the other end, but not knowing myself Archicad at all I don't even know what to ask about the IFC export process to this other guy?

 

I have seen screenshot of renders he had done on archicad on this same project so the materials are there, but perhaps they're not on the exported IFC?

 

Fred


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

No Import - Maximum size of IFC imports?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Jul 10, 2016 at 11:56:30 AM

1

Revit export/import to IFC - ceilings and floors (ifccovering)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 28, 2014 at 8:22:58 PM

1

Revit to Ifc to Third Party BIM Viewer

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Tue, Dec 11, 2018 at 6:36:03 PM

1

Revit Family Export to IFC

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 29, 2013 at 10:29:41 PM

0

IFC import intoRST2010?..

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 26, 2010 at 7:07:17 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1390615

Objects:

20298

Forum Posts:

150343

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.2046

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights