RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

200 Users Online (93 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Architectre/ Structural Coordination and Best Practices

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Nov 15, 2018 at 8:50:34 PM | Architectre/ Structural Coordination and Best Practices

#1

lpluger21


active

Joined: Wed, Nov 4, 2009
0 Posts
No Rating


At the Architecture firm I work at we get hand markups of the sturctural plans from the engineer and we draft the plans in CAD.

Now that we are transitioning the firm into Revit I am at a loss for the the best way to go about handeling our structural plans. In the previous projects I have done, I have tried exporting the plans into CAD and then drafting as normal and just printing those sheets out of CAD. This "works" but coordination is an absolute nightmare managing the little shifts that happen. Things fall through the cracks and I don't feel confident that everything is correct when doing it this way, not to mention that there is a lot of time wasted constantly exporting plans and cleaning them up to use.  

I have tried drafting in cad and then importing back in to revit to monitor coordination, but none of the line weights transfer and it is just a big mess.

I am about to start laying out the structural plans for a new project so I have been reserching/ brainstorming alternatives. 

I thought about keeping it in revit, modeling the beams, and just drafting with different line weights and detail annotations for the rest. This could work but for some reason when I have an HSS beam I can't get it to show the thickness in plan, it only displays as a single line. (See attached image). I also feel like it will be a ton of work to get all the line weights set up and creating all the detail annotations. I don't mind the work, but if there is a better way of doing this I don't want to waste my time.

If anyone has any suggestions or best practices I am all ears. I know there is revit structure for this, but I don't know how to use it, and we don't have a seat for it either.  

I am using Revit 2019.

 

Thank you!



Attached Images

158657_hss.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Nov 15, 2018 at 9:41:41 PM | Architectre/ Structural Coordination and Best Practices

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 333 Votes


For over 6 years, our structural engineers have been doing their work totally in Revit.  It can be done if you learn how but that is very hard for hard core CAD drafters.  You need some outside training.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 6, 2019 at 6:55:34 AM | Architectre/ Structural Coordination and Best Practices

#3

sharetrader


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 6, 2019
0 Posts
No Rating


thanks for sharing


-----------------------------------

List of stock brokers in kerala

Share brokers in Cochin

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 6, 2019 at 8:24:52 PM | Architectre/ Structural Coordination and Best Practices

#4

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


You are so lucky can work on both architectural and structural the same time.

The Revit modeling is the best way so far for the coordination between disciplines.

My suggestion is first to learn how to model a building architecturally, then learn the Workset, the most important is learn Family. After some practices, you would love Revit.

Using the structural beams as an example:

1.       Open the beam family “W-Wide Flange” from Revit library, turn to 3D view.

2.       Select that beam, in “Properties”, click “Edit” on the right of “Visibility/Graphic Overrides”, another window “Family Element Visibility Settings” will be shown; check “Coarse”, and “Medium”, then “OK”.

3.       Load it into your project, on the very bottom of the screen, select the display level. Then you will see the whole beam.

4.       You also need to learn that the structural members are placed on the “Level” below.

Just some this kind of hoops you need go through.

Good luck, have fun!



Edited on: Wed, Feb 6, 2019 at 2:26:14 PM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit Groups Best Practices

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, May 21, 2013 at 12:58:50 PM

1

Best Practices - Coordinating Column Grids Across Arch. and Structural Models

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 11, 2009 at 3:32:25 PM

1

Architectural/Structural Coordination questions

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 31, 2011 at 8:19:11 PM

0

Coordination with structural [ 1 2 ]

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Dec 12, 2012 at 5:27:41 PM

15

BIM coordination role

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Apr 9, 2013 at 9:58:33 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1221025

Objects:

19951

Forum Posts:

149662

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1615

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights