RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

192 Users Online (63 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Callouts/Details

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jun 2, 2006 at 10:26:55 PM | Callouts/Details

#1

gdoorn


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 26, 2006
118 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


i created a bunch of details from my wall sections. i did this by duplicating the view with details (from the Wall Section), adjusting the crop region, and then deleting the extraneous info. the problem with this is that every one of these details that were generated are now being called out in Plan, Section, Elevation, Roof plan etc. i only wanted them referenced by a callout bubble in the wall section. i know that they coordinate automatically, but it clutters up my other drawings. is there a preset setting that i am missing that only generates the detail callout in the view i originally created the detail from? it is a pretty large excercise to go back to each view and turn off these details after i created 20 of them from my wall sections. any advice/method suggestions are greatly appreciated. Thank you, GD

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 2, 2006 at 10:35:13 PM | RE: Callouts/Details

#2

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


the usual method is to use the 'callout' command in the view menu on the left. very easy and works a treat. you will have to discard your other views i suspect. although, revit has proven to me occasionally the ability to show a section done in the standard way, as a callout bubble if the section occurs parallel and 'within' a bigger section. but try callouts - they are so simple. plus you can reference another view. this latter trick may be useful, as you could keep your existing views. hope that helps

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jun 2, 2006 at 11:08:37 PM | RE: Callouts/Details

#3

gdoorn


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 26, 2006
118 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


yeah, but our Wall Sections are pretty detailed, and i didnt want to spend time redrawing what was already drawn once. by utilizing the duplicate with detailing tool, i was able to save my wall components, finishes, stud symbols, insulation, etc. instead of modeling every component of our builidng, we have been leaving our walls generic, and adding the detail where it is needed. it makes dimensioning/documenting the plans much much easier from what i have found. so there is no setting anyone knows of to only have the call out appear in the original view and not project wide?

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jun 2, 2006 at 11:36:38 PM | RE: Callouts/Details

#4

latemore


active
latemore Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 28, 2005
208 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


i think i understand what you are doing. are you placing detail lines etc on your main sections, at a large scale, then 'duplicating with detail' the view to a small scale? if so, then the detailing should come through, but any extra drafting on either will not reflect on the other. but i suppose you know this! the callout method should still work for you, by referencing another view. when you start the command, along the top will be a button 'reference other view', and following it through will coordinate the documents.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 23, 2008 at 9:27:35 PM | Callouts/Details

#5

BVHdarin


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 18, 2007
9 Posts
No Rating


As a work around for your current problem could you just select the callouts you don't want to see in plan or elevation ect. and right click and select hide element and then it shouldn't be visible.  That would at least clean out some of the clutter in your plans.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 25, 2008 at 10:01:11 PM | Callouts/Details

#6

mthurnauer


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 17, 2007
83 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


You can also use the callout tool to make the enlarged detail.  Open the callout view. Go back to the section, select all and then using the filter filter out all of the modeling items, Copy. Go to the callout view and Paste Same Place.  It will put everything in the detail view in the proper location.  It actually only takes seconds to do.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Linking Callouts Between Revit Models

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 9, 2008 at 9:04:57 PM

1

Schedules With Details Callouts

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Fri, May 2, 2008 at 2:12:28 PM

2

Copying callouts across the projects

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 4, 2014 at 3:59:11 PM

13

Rotating details on sheets without rotating their callouts in plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 10, 2008 at 11:28:37 PM

3

Referencing Callouts in linked models

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 at 5:02:20 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1690621

Objects:

22215

Forum Posts:

151746

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0865

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights