RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

260 Users Online (128 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit Boxed Dimension

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, May 6, 2018 at 2:20:22 AM | Revit Boxed Dimension

#1

SeanKirkland


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 12, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi all,

Probably a novice question but one that has bugged, can anyone tell me how to make a boxed dimension style for "overall" setouts.

Thanks



Attached Images

157508_format.png

This user is offline

 

Sun, May 6, 2018 at 3:06:08 PM | Revit Boxed Dimension

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 353 Votes


This kind of dimension and question has never shown up here on RC in all the years I have been a monitor.  There is no way to do this with conventional Revit. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 7, 2018 at 1:34:28 AM | Revit Boxed Dimension

#3

SeanKirkland


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 12, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Intertersting, because the screen shot was taken from a Revit job.

Maybe an fill box over? Unlikey as you can't snap to the dimension and these look in perfect allignment. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 8, 2018 at 12:49:12 PM | Revit Boxed Dimension

#4

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


That could be done using a detail line based family that uses a label to report the length.

See attached family (Revit 2016)



This user is offline

 

Tue, May 8, 2018 at 1:24:43 PM | Revit Boxed Dimension

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 353 Votes


If the one he has were a detail line based family, it would report as such rather than a dimension.  In either case, this will work as a solution.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 9, 2018 at 5:33:06 AM | marmiketin1

#6

SeanKirkland


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 12, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting marmiketin1 from 2018-05-08 07:49:12

"

That could be done using a detail line based family that uses a label to report the length.

See attached family (Revit 2016)

"

Mate, you nailed this! Well done, this is exactly what I was chasing. Can't thank you enough


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

keynote legend boxed keynote tag

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 18, 2008 at 2:29:57 PM

2

Boxed in Eave Roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 14, 2012 at 4:14:54 PM

4

Boxed End Bottom bearing Steel Joist

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 21, 2012 at 5:38:27 PM

0

Boxed Text In Dimensions

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Wed, Oct 29, 2014 at 3:01:21 PM

1

Activate Dimension

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 13, 2011 at 6:53:44 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1442675

Objects:

20770

Forum Posts:

150864

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7314

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights