RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

318 Users Online (165 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> model position

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, May 4, 2018 at 3:04:46 AM | model position

#1

glenlake


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 11, 2012
25 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Good afternoon;

Is it a bug when my model is mirrored when I open it, but when it is linked in the Site file, it is correct.

The shared coordinates are published from the site model, the position is saved.

Other files linked to that  very site model are OK.

All the models have only one position.

Revit 2017

Please help.

Thank you


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 4, 2018 at 12:30:09 PM | model position

#2

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


A Revit model cannot be mirrored in its own central model. It is what it is - i.e. it is exactly how it was modelled originally. I suggest that the model after it has been linked into another model has been mirrored within that other model. If that makes sense.


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Sat, May 5, 2018 at 12:31:39 PM | model position

#3

glenlake


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 11, 2012
25 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Thanks. That's the only logical explanation which came to my mind, but i needed someone supported it.

However, when I link other 100% correct models into this mirrored building, these links are also mirrored.

When these links are separately linked in other correct models, they are correct.

I think there it something with the position, but i don't know what.

Please share your thoughts.


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 5, 2018 at 9:13:55 PM | model position

#4

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Create a new model from scratch. Place a single wall in it. Save it and close it. Open the problem model, import the new model. Use acquire coordinates/location tool to acquire the location from the new model. Remove new model and save problem mode abd close it. Hopefully this has reset the coordinate system. Now open the site file and insert the problem model and place it correctly in the right X/Y/Z planes. Use publish coordinates and publish coordinates to problem model. Hope this works.


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Sun, May 6, 2018 at 2:26:02 AM | model position

#5

glenlake


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 11, 2012
25 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


  Thanks.  I also think the problem is in the coordinates. 

  I tried to eraze the coordinates (I have a special read-only file for this), and the PBP and the survey point move at undesirable locations.

  Is there anything I could try before rewriting the coordinates?

Thank you again.

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, May 6, 2018 at 3:07:29 PM | model position

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Copy the file to a read/write seperated location and work with that as a test.


This user is offline

 

Sun, May 6, 2018 at 3:43:53 PM | model position

#7

glenlake


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 11, 2012
25 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


You mean to place in a different folder and them relink into the site model?


This user is offline

 

Sun, May 6, 2018 at 3:59:34 PM | model position

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


You can open up any revit project 'detached' and then store that central under a new name.  This file will already have all linked files and whatever you do in this file will not affect any links.


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 8, 2018 at 1:46:11 AM | model position

#9

glenlake


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 11, 2012
25 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Yes, that's true. Thank you again for the help.

I still don't understand why the model is flipped when it is detached or opened separately while it is good when is linked.

I'll probably bind it into the topo and delete other links, thereby getting a new copy of that building, this time properly oriented. But why is it mirrored?


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 16, 2018 at 9:56:18 PM | model position

#10

glenlake


active

Joined: Sun, Mar 11, 2012
25 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I did what i intended - copied the file where the link was good, deleted all other stuff, bound the link, and saved the file under the name of the corrupted one. When i linked it to the main model, everything was good.

 But i still don't know why it was mirrored.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Can't align Sturctural and Architectural model project positions.

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 14, 2012 at 11:59:52 AM

2

Aligning text position in different labels.

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sat, Sep 26, 2009 at 2:48:29 AM

2

Newbie - How to Link consultant's revit files? what to use for position?

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Jul 23, 2009 at 10:43:47 PM

2

position of materials

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, May 6, 2009 at 12:46:36 PM

1

Elevation detail number position

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 13, 2010 at 3:35:41 PM

9

Site Stats

Members:

1551204

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151400

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8145

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights