RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

180 Users Online (68 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Delete Document Asset Appearances

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Feb 19, 2018 at 9:51:22 PM | Delete Document Asset Appearances

#1

jeremyknoll


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 19, 2018
0 Posts
No Rating


I am using Revit 2016 and working in a Generic Adaptive family.

While setting up my materials I noticed in the Asset Browser I had some duplicate apperances in the Document Assets folder. I assume since they were in the Document Assets folder that means they're being used somwhere. But I've deleted all my models, deleted all my materials except the defaults, and removed a custom library I was using. I've verified they're not being used by the default materials. Purge unused gives me nothing to purge.

Attached is the RFA file.

What am I missing for deleting unused appearances? If these appearances are in use...I think I deleted everything so how can I find where they're being used? 



Attached Images

156828_AssetBrowser.JPG156828_PurgeUnused.JPG

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 20, 2018 at 2:48:26 PM | Delete Document Asset Appearances

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


Read THIS.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 20, 2018 at 3:09:56 PM | Delete Document Asset Appearances

#3

jeremyknoll


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 19, 2018
0 Posts
No Rating


Yeah, WW, I had read that; I had hoped I was misunderstanding.

"An asset in a project is deleted (or removed) if it is no longer associated with a material in that project. However, an asset in a library remains in existence even if it is not associated with a material. The system is unaware of any association between assets and materials."

So I guess once it gets into that Document Assets library you can't manually remove it? An assets' existence in a project/family isn't the same as its existence in a library/the asset browser?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 20, 2018 at 3:40:20 PM | Delete Document Asset Appearances

#4

jeremyknoll


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 19, 2018
0 Posts
No Rating


.



Edited on: Tue, Feb 20, 2018 at 9:44:56 AM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 20, 2018 at 4:20:20 PM | Delete Document Asset Appearances

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 348 Votes


Think out of the box... If you can't remove it, then can you edit it and it's name to use it as an asset that you may need?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 20, 2018 at 4:32:42 PM | Delete Document Asset Appearances

#6

jeremyknoll


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 19, 2018
0 Posts
No Rating


haha, no, thats ok. I could rename/reuse them but there are no more materials/assets to be added to this family. I can bring my model into a fresh family project and bring in my materials from a custom library to avoid these duplicate assets.

I'm used to Revit "surprising" me, I just wanted to verify I wasn't missing something. In the future I'll make my materials/assets in a dummy family and save them to a custom library to hopefully avoid duplicates in my working families.

Thanks for the confirmation.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Deleting Dulplicate document assets

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 2:37:14 PM

1

This asset is shared with 13 other materials... and I don't like it.

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 18, 2019 at 1:47:38 PM

2

"failed to open document"

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 19, 2018 at 6:44:34 AM

4

How can i mirror the entire model ?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 14, 2006 at 6:08:13 AM

0

delete door or window without losing the row in schedule to bubble

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 27, 2009 at 7:51:20 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1458936

Objects:

20466

Forum Posts:

150555

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1371

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights