RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

181 Users Online (65 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> How to start a new project using everything from an existing one?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Nov 24, 2017 at 8:43:33 PM | How to start a new project using everything from an existing one?

#1

juca64


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 24, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi

I am relatevly new Revit user I been working with revit but never start a project from scratch. Now I have to do so, I have already an existing project with all the parameters, fanilies and templatesI want to keep using on the new project, how is the secure and clean process to start using all of those things.

Thanks for any hint, I really appreciate in advance any help.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Nov 25, 2017 at 12:10:32 PM | How to start a new project using everything from an existing one?

#2

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Ok, I won't lie but there is a lot of work to do. You may be better off starting your new project from scratch using your office template and transferring across anything you need using the Transfer Project Standards tool.

However if you want to know what you need to do to reuse an existing project then do as follows:Detach and save as the original model. Delete everything 3D in the model (unless there are parts you want to keep).

Change project information parameters.

Delete any drafting views you don't want.

Remove all existing links like rvts, dwgs, images, ifcs and point clouds.

Don't purge.

A model does build up redundant content throughout a project's lifetime. You should dive in deep and delete out some of this. This will include line styles, line weights, fill patterns, region fills, materials, sheets, text types, project parameters, shared parameters, families, annotations, tags, 2D Groups, 3D Groups, Keynotes

You will need to reposition your project coordinates to your new site along with your project north.Remove phases and design options.

Resolve all warnings.

Review view templates, filters and color schemes and delete any you don't need.

Change your Location to your new site address in the Sun Settings.Remove redundant worksets.

There's probably more but I can't think of them for now.


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Sat, Nov 25, 2017 at 3:27:28 PM | How to start a new project using everything from an existing one?

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 363 Votes


You will also want to delete all levels except for the first one, then delete all views - except for the first level plan and the 4 major elevations.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Nov 25, 2017 at 9:28:04 PM | How to start a new project using everything from an existing one?

#4

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Thanks WWWHub...and delete grids



Edited on: Sat, Nov 25, 2017 at 3:29:00 PM

-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Creating new project from existing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 22, 2005 at 5:16:53 PM

2

Stupid ? # 234 - project browser

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 20, 2009 at 7:23:50 PM

7

Should i use the existing Revit Model to create a new building addition?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 19, 2011 at 1:07:22 PM

3

Levels - I need more

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Nov 18, 2010 at 7:59:30 PM

0

Import existing Revit Building in New Project

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 7, 2016 at 5:55:01 PM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1567738

Objects:

21461

Forum Posts:

151459

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 16.0366

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights