RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

185 Users Online (94 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Advice on wall linings

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 9:30:22 AM | Advice on wall linings

#1

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi,

 

I'd like some pointers on the best way of doing wall linings - where a wall is boxed out around some services to to make it wider locally to match a feature.

 

The main wall is brickwork, cavity with blockwork and plasterboard. The lining would be plaster on a metal framing system.

Obviously in real live, the plasterboard to the blockwork would not be built where the wall is lined.

 

So to do this in Revit, I've tried the following:

Create a new wall called lining - which I place adjacent to the main wall - I then use the join command to join the walls - this works OK, but the linings vary in thickness and so I end up creating many 'lining' wall types. A disadvantage of this is that the plasterboard behind the boxing cannot be omitted and so visually in plan this doesn't look so good.

I've not tried this, but I've considered some sort of lining family which is adjustable to the lining width and maybe even deletes the plaster from the main wall with a void form - though I'm slightly unsure how to build this.

So, whats the way you do this? Is there a good way of handling linings in Revit?

 

Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 12:06:52 PM | Advice on wall linings

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


You could make an instance based, parametric, wall-based family for this that includes a void to cut the layers of wall that is in this area. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Oct 26, 2017 at 2:55:10 PM | Advice on wall linings

#3

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


My approach to walls is that for every different wall type you need onsite for construction, your model should have the same. This way each wall type can be individually parametrically numbered e.g. WT01 and you can tag any wall in any plan, section, elevation detail. You will then be able to prduce a legend with each wall type within it. Using a brief description of the wall in its name will allow you to create a schedule of all project walls. Following this format. If you have 2 different types of wall type used as boxing around a particular service zone or column then you want to clearly identify that wall type to the builder.Construction is complicated and to have complete control over what happens onsite, you need to be completely thorough in the level of detail you include in your model. You could take shortcuts but then design gets transferred to the person insite and they won't be thinking of making it pretty, then will be looking at the easiest and quickest way to get the job done.


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 27, 2017 at 7:04:59 AM | Advice on wall linings

#4

archie456


active

Joined: Mon, May 17, 2010
181 Posts
3 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks for your response.

@Beaucoupnice - this is the approach I generally take, but sometimes with complicated buildings we end up will loads of wall types which becomes difficult to manage effectively.

 

I read on the internet that some people model the external walls as one type, but model the inner lining of the external wall as another wall type - that way the lining can go around anything - obviously it makes openings in walls more complicated though...


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 27, 2017 at 10:19:12 AM | Advice on wall linings

#5

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Yes I was asked to do that on one job recently. It was pain to do because every window/door opening will only create an opening in one of the walls. To make the door/window opening automatically cut through both walls, you had to use the join command and join the inner wall to the outer wall. This was very laboursome and in my opinion overly detailed. Quite often the junctions would get quite complicated and this would cause join issues or warning errors or the door/window openings would just fail to cut the opening in the wall and would be hidden inside the wall. MY attitude is to use a single wall that has the full layer buildup from inner to outer face and let it fly through columns etc. Drawings that are issued at 1:100/1:200 scales are too small to show in detail that the wall does not stop / start correctly. Then I create callouts from the 1:50 plans to separate A3 plan detail sheets and I explain in 1:10/1:5 ( small scale ) how each junction works. The callout plan detail is a hybrid detail (comnination of 3D & 2D content Winking. It uses the 3D model as a background and I then use the cut profile tool ( View/Graphics) to trim the various layers of the wall buldups back to where they need to stop/start. You will of course need to use masking/fill regions/detail lines to get the detail looking good.


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Advice - Wall Cornice

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Feb 3, 2012 at 6:05:51 PM

5

New wall types

Community >> The Studio

Sun, Feb 29, 2004 at 2:09:46 AM

6

Advice from Professional Architects/Architectural Technicians

Community >> The Studio

Wed, Apr 20, 2016 at 9:47:25 PM

3

Wall and Floor Best Practice Advice

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 15, 2011 at 5:54:07 PM

2

Precast Cap on wall profile sketch

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 23, 2006 at 8:31:12 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1758846

Objects:

22373

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.5773

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights