RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

331 Users Online (177 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Window family cut appears different in plan when height gets too small

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Oct 22, 2017 at 1:59:42 AM | Window family cut appears different in plan when height gets too small

#1

bparker02


active

Joined: Sat, Sep 30, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Hello,

I'm very new to Revit and I've just run into yet another item that I've spent an hour researching and can't seem to find an answer for. I downloaded a simple brick window from the downloads section and I'm experiencing a weird phenomenon when cutting through the window when the height gets too small. I could see how if the width go too small it wouldn't display properly or even let me assign something under 6" as the jambs would overlap but this height business doesn't make a bit of sense! 

Here is the file location so you can test it yourself:

https://www.revitcity.com/downloads.php?action=view&object_id=5415

For example, I'm working on a home and lets say I have two different size windows. Using this family I create a few different types, one that are 20" wide and 26" tall, another that is 20" wide and 25" tall, and another winodw that is 20" wide and 20" tall.

I've uploaded a sample file with the different windows already sized and loaded. Nothing is different between these windows other than the height. Once the window gets under 26" in height they start to appear different when being cut. All of the windows are placed at the correct height to go through the window at 48".

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!!



This user is offline

 

Sun, Oct 22, 2017 at 8:56:01 PM | Window family cut appears different in plan when height gets too small

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


Believe it or not, windows will appear different depending on where the window is cut in the family.  Experiment with this and see if it is your problem.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Oct 22, 2017 at 9:03:27 PM | Window family cut appears different in plan when height gets too small

#3

bparker02


active

Joined: Sat, Sep 30, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Unfortunately I didn't create this family and have almost no experience in working with families. With that said I did change the cut plane to every single 1" increment and the windows appear to cut differently once they are under 26" in height...just plain weird. I don't know if there's a way to assign a cut plane in the familiy or something to better control how they look.

More help is needed. Maybe someone with a good knowledge of families can help out.

Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Sun, Oct 22, 2017 at 9:45:17 PM | Window family cut appears different in plan when height gets too small

#4

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 23 Votes


That’s what you get when using 3D geometry in plan view. In the window family, make 3D geometry invisible in ‘Plan/RPC’ and ‘When cut in plan/RCP…’ and draw 2D lines (use pick line tool, lock).


This user is offline

 

Sun, Oct 22, 2017 at 10:20:50 PM | pijpiwo

#5

bparker02


active

Joined: Sat, Sep 30, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting pijpiwo from 2017-10-22 16:45:17

"

That’s what you get when using 3D geometry in plan view. In the window family, make 3D geometry invisible in ‘Plan/RPC’ and ‘When cut in plan/RCP…’ and draw 2D lines (use pick line tool, lock).

"

Thank you pijpiwo! This has helped some of my problems. As I mentioned I'm not by any means even a rookie yet with families. When I use the pick line tool, I'm in the plan view, and I select all the window pieces I want to see. Unfortunately when I reload the family I don't see any of those lines. Is there anyway you'd be kind enough to explain this a little more on where I should be drawing these lines or update the model that I uploaded?

Thanks! 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 23, 2017 at 12:31:11 AM | Window family cut appears different in plan when height gets too small

#6

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 23 Votes


In the window family, select 3D elements (frame, glass, etc.) and in the visibility settings uncheck those two options (pic 1). Elements should turn halftone.

Draw symbolic lines (2D) by pick lines option and choosing correct subcategory (pic 2).

 

 

Rvt 2017 file enclosed



Attached Images

155966_pic_1.JPG155966_pic_2.JPG

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 23, 2017 at 1:03:27 AM | pijpiwo

#7

bparker02


active

Joined: Sat, Sep 30, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting pijpiwo from 2017-10-22 19:31:11

"

In the window family, select 3D elements (frame, glass, etc.) and in the visibility settings uncheck those two options (pic 1). Elements should turn halftone.

Draw symbolic lines (2D) by pick lines option and choosing correct subcategory (pic 2).

 

 

Rvt 2017 file enclosed

"

Thank you so much! I really appreciate you helping me out with this issue and updating my Revit file.

I completely missed the subcategory and probably didn't put it on the correct one, therefore it wouldn't show up.

EDIT:

I see you used Symbolic Lines to show up in the cut plane and not Model Lines. I'd never heard of these before and used the wrong lines in the last post. Thanks pijpiwo!



Edited on: Sun, Oct 22, 2017 at 8:19:48 PM

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 23, 2017 at 1:25:56 PM | bparker02

#8

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 23 Votes


"I see you used Symbolic Lines to show up in the cut plane and not Model Lines."

Yep, when you apply a wireframe view option in the project, your model lines should show, but symbolic lines is the way to go in this case.

Cheers!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Window family doesn't cut properly in plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 14, 2013 at 11:55:42 AM

3

Parametric sliding window family not showing properly in plan

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 7, 2011 at 3:04:59 AM

4

window above cut plane is visible. why?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 27, 2009 at 3:25:10 PM

1

window does not get cut in plan view.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 12, 2011 at 3:37:20 PM

6

SECTION CUT VISIBILITY ISSUES WITH WINDOWS

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 3, 2016 at 5:28:10 PM

9

Site Stats

Members:

1757563

Objects:

22372

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.3584

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights