RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

157 Users Online (69 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Text Visibility

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Sep 11, 2017 at 5:47:34 AM | Text Visibility

#1

ToddAP


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 11, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


I have just started the migration from Auotcad to Revit and am having issues with the use of text. I have placed text in my various floor plans but when I then look at the corresponding Sheets the text doesn't appear. I have tried the Visibility/Graphics Overrides but can't get the text to show up. Any clues would be greatlyt appreciated


This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 11, 2017 at 2:52:00 PM | Text Visibility

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


You put the text in th plan that is actully on the sheet?  So if you click on the view on the sheet and select activate, show us the VG properties under annotations.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 12, 2017 at 12:35:53 AM | Text Visibility

#3

ToddAP


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 11, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi WWHub and thanks for the reply.I tried activating the view on the sheet but still having the same issue.

I may not have been very clear with my description so will try again and hopefully you can help me out.

In the project browser I am working in the "Floor Plans" on my ground floor. I have then use the Text tool to add text to the plan. When I now move to the "Sheets" area of the browser and open my Proposed Floor Plan sheet to check the layout of the sheet the text is not visible. I have gone into Visibility/Graphics Overrides and checked all the boxes but still no text shows up.

Let me know if that makes sense, I may well be completely off track with my methodolgy, it wouldn't be the first time.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 12, 2017 at 1:51:07 AM | Text Visibility

#4

ToddAP


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 11, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


I think I have found out what I was doing wrong. I have a building with mulitple floor levels as it is on a stepped site so I set up the project with a Gound floor level 1, ground floor level 2 and ground floor level 3 as well as a garage level so that each time I wanted to draw a new wall I would open the viewport for the relevant ground floor level so that the wall base would automatically start at the right height The text I was adding was via the viewport for ground floor level 1 but the sheet set referenced the viewport for ground floor level 2. I thought that the text was attached to the model but now realise that the text is actually attached to the viewport in which it is placed.

 

So now I need to work out a better way to set up the drawing when there are multiple level changes, or may just need to be more vigilant with the Base constraint settings when I draw walls. Is there some way to make the wall default to previous base constraint rather than defaulting to the floor level of the viewport?

I will get there and I can see the advantages of Revit proficiency will be huge but in the meantime the idea of running back to Autocad and just bang out some plans quickly is looking tempting.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 12, 2017 at 12:19:10 PM | Text Visibility

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


I had suspected that your text was not in the view placed on the sheet.  You are learning.

Making independent plans for placing the walls is the only automatic process to get them to reflect the 'actual' level they sart from but this may not be what you actually want.  All walls can be edited to change their base or set an offset from their base.  The question is typically a reprting issue.  Should all walls report as first floor even if they are first floor or first floor + 6" or whatever?   If it is only minor amounts, I would think they are the same but major floor changes should be different.

Also, have you learned yet about plan regions?  These are useful in stepped plans, especially when you have openings.  For instance, if your window sill height is 3' and your plan cut is 4', the windows on an area 1' above the base would not show up correctly.  A plan region would correct that.

Be aware that rooms and doors report the level of the plan they are placed from.  Again, you can set an offset on these elements.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Model text visibility with hidden line

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 21, 2016 at 1:09:48 AM

4

Text formatting (bullets & indents)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 12, 2008 at 1:49:15 AM

1

Production Text Notes - Global Visibility

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 8, 2017 at 7:43:55 PM

2

Multiple text types?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 10, 2013 at 9:13:38 PM

8

Text Formatting

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 25, 2007 at 4:12:29 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1793657

Objects:

22507

Forum Posts:

151979

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3515

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights