RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

79 Users Online (78 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Cut Profile Line Weights (Revit Glitch?)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Aug 18, 2017 at 4:12:50 PM | Cut Profile Line Weights (Revit Glitch?)

#1

nicholaswhitney


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 30, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


See the attached PDF.

Item#1 is a cut profile placed in a wall stud cavity to shorten the stud height (Or length).  The line work shows correctly as expected for that wall layer.

Item #2 is a cut profile placed in a wall stud cavity to extend the stud height (Or length).  The line work automatically takes the incorrect line weight (The thick line for the overall wall thickness), instead of the layer it is assigned to.  Therein lies the issue.  A cut profile, regardless of extension or depression, should have the same line weight for each wall layer.  Is this a bug?  Is there an internal rule in Revit where the change in line weight makes sense?

Item #3 is a cut profile control to show that it's not just a single layer that does this, but all layers in a wall construction.

 

Does anyone know why this happens or how to fix it?  Because you can't line work a cut profile, I'm at a loss as to how to get the line weights to show up correctly like I would expect them to.  I've been running into this for years and usually just use detail components rather than cut profiles, but figured I'd post this here in case anyone had a solution that I hadn't come across yet.

 

Thanks in advance.



This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 18, 2017 at 6:05:32 PM | Cut Profile Line Weights (Revit Glitch?)

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


Edit cut profile has always used the exterior line setting for ALL layers.   Sorry


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 21, 2017 at 8:20:35 AM | Cut Profile Line Weights (Revit Glitch?)

#3

nicholaswhitney


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 30, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


I understand that it always HAS used that line thickness in the past.  But that's not exactly true for all cut profiles because the one that is decreasing the stud layer's height/length actually uses the CORRECT line weight of the wall layers.  So I'm wondering why that is and what internally in Revit makes it say one condition is one line weight and the other is the other.

 

It just doesn't make sense from a consistency stand point.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 21, 2017 at 9:05:52 AM | Cut Profile Line Weights (Revit Glitch?)

#4

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 10 Votes


See attached for how to get what you are looking for. Cut profiles take the line weight of the walls cut lines from the VG settings. If you do and override in the VG settings (not override by view) the cut profile will change its thickness. Then you can use the linework tool to put the outside faces back to the thickness you want.



Attached Images

155483_Untitled.png

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 22, 2017 at 4:23:29 PM | Cut Profile Line Weights (Revit Glitch?)

#5

nicholaswhitney


active

Joined: Wed, Apr 30, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


marmiketin1, that's a good work around for a singular one-off location.  But it doesn't change the fact that the system is not behaving as expected and should be revisited by Autodesk to rework the cut profile tool.  

Thanks for everyone's ideas.  I'll post to Autodesk Ideas annd hopefully get some support to fix the system.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Line weights & detailing 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 6, 2013 at 7:51:24 PM

7

Revit Structure Questions Line Weights

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 16, 2013 at 3:33:32 PM

1

Wishlist - Multiple cut weights to walls

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Sat, Jan 8, 2011 at 10:48:15 PM

5

Automatic Line Weights

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Mar 31, 2010 at 6:30:48 AM

1

Line weights reverting to standard

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 6, 2011 at 7:10:38 AM

9

Site Stats

Members:

2016848

Objects:

22944

Forum Posts:

152208

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.5602

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights