RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

43 Users Online (42 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Typical floors

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jul 25, 2017 at 12:21:49 PM | Typical floors

#1

zakazai


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 23, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi 

I have many floors typical in the tower  project. 

What is the best way to build, 

Is it model one floor and copy, how? As group? 

Then what happens to items mentioned as floor wise. 

What about linking floor as external file. 

But I am expecting changes in design more often. 

Please advise best practices. 


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jul 25, 2017 at 12:53:16 PM | Typical floors

#2

blue442


active
blue442 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Aug 25, 2009
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Just recently finished a project with multiple identical floors...

 

I believe now that the best way to have done this is to model floors identical as external linked files.Then you can reference them in and copy them up and down relative as necessary.

 

I do not know how this works when it comes to tagging and scheduling though as i have not done it yet, others may have some insight.

 

 


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jul 25, 2017 at 1:21:04 PM | Typical floors

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


If you don't have seperate floor plans for these levels and no door or room tags, then just use a group.  A group takes up very little file space nd it can be edited.  YOU DON'T WANT TO INCLUDE DOOR TAGS, ROOM OR ROOM TAGS.   Obviously the doors will want to schedule but you can filter them out.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 25, 2017 at 11:47:22 PM | Typical floors

#4

Elnazer2


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 18, 2016
0 Posts
3.5 Stars: 4 Votes


linking won't be your best choice if you are going to schedule any of the items on copied linked floors because revit reads the same level on linked copies as well , so copy links only horizontally but vertically what i did with the current project am working with that have multiple identical floors is using groups each group on a separate file and repeat them vertically then link to my main project .

( that practice is for big projects because large groups act weired sometimes , if it is a small project group in the same project would work great )


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 26, 2017 at 12:25:59 AM | Typical floors

#5

zakazai


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 23, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi, All

Thank you very much for all of you who gave great ideas about this issue.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Sep 18, 2017 at 12:52:33 AM | Typical floors

#6

zakazai


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 23, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Just got one more suggesion

 

https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/revit-architecture-forum/managing-revit-project-that-has-similar-items-repeating/m-p/7386637#M163058

 


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 28, 2017 at 1:41:12 PM | Typical floors copying issue

#7

zakazai


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 23, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi All

i have tested a way of managing this multiple copying of similar items in revit. i feel this is good way, and i did not find any difficulties in it.

please give suggestions.

i use the "Save selection" option for it. please find the attached snaps for each step.

1: Step 1, i selected the unit of a building, say a flat, that is to be copied to multiple level, then i saved that selectetion with a name as shown in pic.

then i use Isolate element for this selected flat. so that i dont have any other elements in the screen, so selection is easy.

2: Step 2, i loaded the saved selection of name (typical flat), then i copied and pasted to multiple levels. then i used Temporary hide option for the saved flat. so that i will see only the new copied flats on multiple levels in the screen.

3: Step3, I slected all the copied flats and gave a new name as copied flats, to make a new set of selection to save. then i reset temporary hide option.

Now if my typical floor design changes, i will load the copied flats, and i will delete all. then i load and isolate the first saved flat, i will change design, then i will copy it to the levels.

By this way, i can avoid using grouping option that sometimes makes problems in the project.

Dears Please give your openion about this.

 



Attached Images

155806_step-01.png155806_step-2.png155806_step-3.png

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Typical Floor as a Linked Revit File

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 11, 2006 at 10:35:25 AM

3

Spot Elevation for a typical floor

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 9, 2017 at 8:16:05 PM

2

Grouping Floors

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 22, 2005 at 3:47:49 PM

1

Copied dimensions from typical floors loose reference

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Oct 15, 2017 at 6:55:04 PM

8

Inter connecting REVIT LINKS

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 20, 2012 at 3:22:55 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

2016495

Objects:

22942

Forum Posts:

152203

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2868

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights