RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

265 Users Online (110 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Find objects in views using "Select All Instances in View"

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jun 13, 2017 at 8:28:13 PM | Find objects in views using "Select All Instances in View"

#1

leothelionator


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 15, 2010
103 Posts
No Rating


In Revit 2016, when I browse the family list in the project browser, select an item, and "select all instances in view", Revit will highlight all known instances.  However, it will not tell me where they are hiding.  I would just like to know what view these items are in so I can see if they are even needed in the project before deleting.  Is there a way to see what view selected objects are in?  Like a show in model command or something?  

I understand this may be difficult for multiple instances, but what if there is only one instance?


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 13, 2017 at 9:18:24 PM | Find objects in views using "Select All Instances in View"

#2

surfingjp


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 18, 2010
0 Posts
No Rating


In revit 2016 once you have the items selected you can use the Section Box command BX is the keyboard shortcut. This will add or shrink a section box around the objects selected. The more objects selected the bigger the box.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 13, 2017 at 9:23:14 PM | Find objects in views using "Select All Instances in PROJECT"

#3

leothelionator


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 15, 2010
103 Posts
No Rating


My mistake; I meant to say "select all instances in PROJECT", not "view".  If I'm not already in the correct view, then I cannot know which view they are showing up in.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 13, 2017 at 9:46:32 PM | Find objects in views using "Select All Instances in View"

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


I sometimes do this with model elements from a 3D view but not what you want.   You could write a dynamo script for this and you might find an app.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 13, 2017 at 10:20:00 PM | Find objects in views using "Select All Instances in View"

#5

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 22 Votes


Why not create a multi-category schedule and use highlight in model tool?



Edited on: Tue, Jun 13, 2017 at 5:20:30 PM

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 14, 2017 at 8:38:52 PM | Find objects in views using "Select All Instances in View"

#6

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


The scheduling method works. Sometimes I use the 'select all instances in project' then temporarily turn them into a Group. Then you can select the group and switch from view to view and either highlight the group or tempoarily isolate the group which turns everything off except the group members. Then you probably want to ungroup when done. 

 

In fact I put stuff into temporary groups all the time.

 

You can also Save the Selection Set instead using groups then you can use that selction set later on, even if you close and reopen the file.


-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 15, 2017 at 3:34:42 PM | Find objects in views using "Select All Instances in View"

#7

leothelionator


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 15, 2010
103 Posts
No Rating


Pretty clever responses.  Thanks guys, I will give it a shot.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 15, 2017 at 5:07:36 PM | Find objects in views using "Select All Instances in View"

#8

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


I create a 3D view and rename it "Only Stairs" (for example if I am doing stairs) and hit VV and turn off all categories except the category I am interested in. You can then go to project Browser / Families / Select the family / Select all instances in project and then go that 3D view to see them.If the family in your project is not used in the model anywhere you can easily get rid of them by going to Manage Purge and purge all.


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Finding "Select All Instances in Project"

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 30, 2015 at 5:42:39 PM

3

select all instances??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 6, 2009 at 1:36:04 PM

3

"There are identical instances in the same place."

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Thu, Mar 2, 2017 at 7:00:44 PM

5

Rhino import "Instances"?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 18, 2012 at 3:31:34 PM

1

Auto "Quick" Schedule

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Wed, May 28, 2008 at 6:08:02 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1492784

Objects:

21159

Forum Posts:

151144

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8437

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights