RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

155 Users Online (70 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Fri, May 19, 2017 at 7:02:00 PM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#1

shabik


active

Joined: Wed, May 3, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi

I just imported this rotating door from this website. I then go to project  browser and I can see it is nicely located under DOORS/ but how the hell do I insert it from there? The other door i imported automatically got put into the door-category along with the default door but this one not. It is a revolving door btw, not sure if it matters. Does anyone know what the problem might be?


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 19, 2017 at 7:26:20 PM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#2

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


It might be a curtain wall door.


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 19, 2017 at 7:41:56 PM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#3

shabik


active

Joined: Wed, May 3, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


So how do I find that? In the project family, it is listed in the door-category together with the other door. Btw, I imported a second version and the same thing happened, it is only visible in the browser under door but not if I go architecture/door its not there.


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 19, 2017 at 8:24:27 PM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 309 Votes


Curtain wall 'doors' are replacements for curtain wall panels.  Place a curtain wall, then select a panel and swap that out with the CW door.  Obviously, the panel size needs to be the right size to accomodate the door.


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 20, 2017 at 8:22:49 AM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#5

shabik


active

Joined: Wed, May 3, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Hmm that is a bit strange given that a revolving door is round 180 diameter while a curtain wall is a straight line. Btw, I dont think that worked so well but im relatively new at revit so i might be doing it wrong. I selected the curtain wall, then edited the properties but there are only the normal wall options. Then I went to project browser and tried double click and dragging the revolving door but no luck.


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 20, 2017 at 1:19:21 PM | shabik

#6

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 17 Votes


Quoting shabik from 2017-05-20 03:22:49

"

I selected the curtain wall

"

Not the wall, select a panel that you want to replace and swap it with the door in properties. See this.


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 20, 2017 at 1:51:26 PM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#7

shabik


active

Joined: Wed, May 3, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Okay thanks sor helping but again, it is a revolving door, not a curtain wall door. You can see it in a brick building!


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 20, 2017 at 2:17:14 PM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 309 Votes


Don't be stubborn here and listen!  Many of the revolving doors here on the site are curtain wall doors!  You don't bother to tell us what family so we can only guess based on what you tell us.


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 20, 2017 at 2:18:48 PM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#9

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 17 Votes


Can you upload your door family or give us a link?


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 20, 2017 at 3:02:11 PM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#10

shabik


active

Joined: Wed, May 3, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


I have tried 3 revolving doors. thanks for the video btw, I have this issue that other people on youtube seems to have;

The wall acts a a whole and not individual panels. I can delete the mullions but not select the individual panel. Thanks again for your time and patience!


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 20, 2017 at 3:27:36 PM | shabik

#11

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 17 Votes


Quoting shabik from 2017-05-20 10:02:11

"

I can delete the mullions but not select the individual panel

"

Hover your mouse over the edge of the panel and keep hitting tab key until it highlights.

 

If no go, upload your file.


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 20, 2017 at 5:40:51 PM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#12

shabik


active

Joined: Wed, May 3, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Woho!! That was it! Wow, that was a complicated manuever, had to tab like 23 times to get it and accidently skipped through it, why do they have a control system like that? Didnt know I had to create a curtain wall to create a revovling door, now there is an opaque wall above, no idea how i can change that to brick.


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 20, 2017 at 6:17:50 PM | shabik

#13

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 17 Votes


Quoting shabik from 2017-05-20 12:40:51

"

no idea how i can change that to brick.

"

You didn’t upload your file and you didn’t give us any screenshots, so I can only guess what you’re doing, it may or may not be the best solution in your case - select CW, go to edit type, check ‘automatically embed’, reduce the size of your CW to the size of the door and draw your brick wall over it.


This user is offline

 

Sat, May 20, 2017 at 6:27:21 PM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#14

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 309 Votes


shabik,

Give it time, this process is far easier than you are experiencing.  Most of us can tab to the panel in 2 clicks or less, you just need more experience.

 

The CW revolving door was created for typical full CW buildings.  If you don't have any other needs for the CW, then a different family may have been better.  You can follow pijpiwo's advice if you want your brick wall above.   In a typical CW, that might be a glass panel.


This user is offline

 

Sun, May 21, 2017 at 11:27:40 AM | Cannot find the model or family I just imported!

#15

shabik


active

Joined: Wed, May 3, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks so much guys for all your help, also a good recommendation to half the wall size and add another tall on top of it even though it is on the same level. I really appreciate all the help here, great forum!!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

How do I Delete Imported Catagories?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 12, 2016 at 3:19:29 PM

1

Changing colors and materials in an imported model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 17, 2010 at 10:55:47 PM

1

Imported dwg files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 11, 2017 at 3:25:29 AM

9

Massing - Applying Materials to Imported Geometry from Rhino-HELP!

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Sat, Dec 10, 2011 at 12:30:09 PM

8

Create a new family from a 'model in place'

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 17, 2017 at 6:57:22 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

965493

Objects:

18414

Forum Posts:

146600

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0330

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights