RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

230 Users Online (114 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Revit 2017 Text Displaying Differently - Windows 7 & 10

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, May 15, 2017 at 7:00:01 AM | Revit 2017 Text Displaying Differently - Windows 7 & 10

#1

raja15


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 21, 2011
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi there,

 

Just wondering if anyone else has noticed differences in the way text behaves in Revit 2017, but in Windows 7 & 10?

 

Currently in our office:

 

We have 5+ computers still running Windows 7 - All are using Revit 2017

3 computers have been updated to Windows 10 - All are using Revit 2017

 

We've just gone through the process of updating some of our titleblocks, and strangely, the text in the titleblock is showing different on computers running the 2 types of Windows software (Windows 7 & Windows 10).

 

When I say "showing differently", on the Windows 7 computers, the text will show within the text box as it has been typed in.

Whereas on the Windows 10 computers, its showing up as though someone has reduced the text box size, and letters & words are going to a 2nd line within the text box.

 

Example:

Windows 7 computer:

Testing 1234

 

Windows 10 computer:

Testing 12

34

 

Bear in mind this is exactly the same revit file, just opened on 2 different computers in the office. One running Windows 7 and one running Widows 10. Is this a known issue with Revit? I haven't come across it before.

 

The workaround we have come up with in the meantime is created 2 separate company template files - one for Windows 7 and one for Windows 10. As you could imagine this isn't ideal as we now have 2 templates to update evertime there is a modification required.

 

Any thoughts?

 

PS. We tried this exercise by opening Revit 2016 template on both Windows 7 & 10 computers and had no issues with the text. Not sure if it is a Windows 7/10 issue or just a coincidence. Any advice would be appreciated though.

 

 

Thanks in advance.



Edited on: Mon, May 15, 2017 at 2:05:34 AM

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 15, 2017 at 4:23:44 PM | Revit 2017 Text Displaying Differently - Windows 7 & 10

#2

archigrafix


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 5, 2013
38 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


Maybe this helps.

https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/revit-architecture-forum/revit-2016-to-2017-text-issue/td-p/6287119


-----------------------------------

Marc Faber

BIM Solutions Developer

archigrafix.com | Oslo, Norway

Now available: Graphic Studio and Reports for Revit

trees | cars | people | graphics | software

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, May 15, 2017 at 7:13:10 PM | Revit 2017 Text Displaying Differently - Windows 7 & 10

#3

raja15


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 21, 2011
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Archigraphix, Cheers for responding, I'm already aware of the text difference when upgrading to 2017, however the issue I'm having is within 2017 itself, just on computers running Windows 7 and Windows 10. I didn't think the text editor was to act differently in different windows software, in the same program (Revit 2017)

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 16, 2017 at 3:54:40 AM | Revit 2017 Text Displaying Differently - Windows 7 & 10

#4

raja15


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 21, 2011
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Just to follow up on this - we worked out why the text was behaving differently in Windows 7 & Windows 10. Turns out with Windows 10 they eliminated some fonts that were included in Windows 7. This is why they were showing up differently when opened on different computers.

 

Just something to be aware of I guess.


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 16, 2017 at 12:29:16 PM | Revit 2017 Text Displaying Differently - Windows 7 & 10

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 313 Votes


Glad you came back to explain.


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 16, 2017 at 2:52:27 PM | Revit 2017 Text Displaying Differently - Windows 7 & 10

#6

blue442


active
blue442 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Aug 25, 2009
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I'm curious, which fonts were removed?  Were you able to indenty them?

 

We have a copyright symbol that turns into a 'z' on some computers.  A while back i switched it to an ascci version of Arial and it fixed the problem.  Perhaps this is why it was a 'z' on some PCs.



Edited on: Tue, May 16, 2017 at 9:53:03 AM

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, May 16, 2017 at 10:28:48 PM | Revit 2017 Text Displaying Differently - Windows 7 & 10

#7

raja15


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 21, 2011
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


The font was used for our company text in the titleblock and in Windows 7 it was called "AvantGarde Md BT Medium", however the same font had it's named changed in Windows 10 to "ITC Avant Garde Gothic" which has a series of different variations to the font.

 

I tested both these fonts on Windows 7 & 10 and noticed that they behave differently, for example how they display, how the letters are written, the white space between the letters, etc.

 

Hope this helps Blue442.


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 17, 2017 at 1:22:58 PM | Revit 2017 Text Displaying Differently - Windows 7 & 10

#8

blue442


active
blue442 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Aug 25, 2009
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Mostly a curiosity factor for myself.  But thank you for replying! I'm going to go back to an older file and see what font we were using for our copyright symbol.

Perhaps its name changed as well.



Edited on: Wed, May 17, 2017 at 8:24:11 AM

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2017 in windows 10

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 26, 2016 at 5:57:10 PM

3

Window tags displaying differently from schedule

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 25, 2010 at 2:25:35 PM

5

Revit 2017 - "An unrecoverable error has occurred..."

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Nov 15, 2016 at 7:29:21 AM

3

text generator in 2017

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 23, 2016 at 12:05:08 PM

1

Revit Architecture 2010 thumbnails not displaying

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 28, 2010 at 7:59:06 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1034427

Objects:

18602

Forum Posts:

147326

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.5313

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights