RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

257 Users Online (115 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Variable Thickness Wall?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Feb 10, 2017 at 1:24:06 AM | Variable Thickness Wall?

#1

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I came across this in my project today and I was stumped: A wall that had a variable thickness for it's core structure but still reported 11-5/8" thickness. It's not modeled as an in-place family. It's an honest to goodness wall. Huh? How is this possible? How do you create something like this?



Attached Images

152807_Variable_Thickness_Wall.PNG

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 10, 2017 at 3:29:32 PM | Variable Thickness Wall?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


It is variable because each of those horizontal split regions can be set to different thickness.

Read this help: http://help.autodesk.com/view/RVT/2014/ENU/?guid=GUID-91584C23-7FB5-46DD-82D1-48F36F3B4804


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 10, 2017 at 6:32:17 PM | Variable Thickness Wall?

#3

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Ah ha. I see. In all these years I've never used this tool. I've definitely modified the vertical section to allow for variable heights of layers, but never had a use for split region. Thanks for the help link to define which tool was in use. That helped find other links to see what it's used for. Have you ever used split region for defining coarsing like I discovered? Seems redundant if you use the appropriate model pattern unless it helps constrain coarsing dimensions vertically? That also sounds redundant. Trying to unpack the logic of why someone might create a cmu wall that way.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 10, 2017 at 6:41:36 PM | Variable Thickness Wall?

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


I have used the split region and even assigned a different material like brick in a block wall.  Also works for recessed or stepped out coursing.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 11, 2017 at 12:09:58 AM | Variable Thickness Wall?

#5

crwinchester


active
crwinchester Avatar

Joined: Sat, Sep 4, 2010
173 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Gotcha. Well I definitely learned something new about Revit today. Thank you sir!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Wall Thickness variable

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 at 4:37:44 PM

8

Roof with variable thickness on sloping framing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 20, 2010 at 4:12:06 PM

1

Wall layer thickness turned "variable"

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 21, 2013 at 8:25:34 PM

1

Wall Thickness in Type Parameter

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 1, 2018 at 12:39:15 PM

5

Sloped solid roof with variable thickness

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 21, 2017 at 10:09:24 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1610516

Objects:

21982

Forum Posts:

151576

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 16.7742

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights