RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

72 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Open Family Editor in Floor Plan View by Default

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Dec 22, 2016 at 6:27:43 PM | Open Family Editor in Floor Plan View by Default

#1

bitslap


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 29, 2016
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi All,

Every time I edit a family, it opens in 3D view, and I spend a lot of time closing that view and opening the floor plan view for most of my families.

Is there a setting such that when I open the family editor, 'Floor Plan: Ref Level' is the default view?

 

Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 23, 2016 at 10:48:58 AM | Open Family Editor in Floor Plan View by Default

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


When you initially save your family, do you close all other views and save from the plan or are you saving from the 3D view?


This user is offline

 

Sat, Dec 24, 2016 at 5:09:37 AM | Open Family Editor in Floor Plan View by Default

#3

archigrafix


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 5, 2013
38 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


I suppose that is saved as a setting in that document. Perhaps a plugin can be done to programatically change all your families to have the setting to open an existing plan view. But I am unaware that such setting exists in Revit.


-----------------------------------

Marc Faber

BIM Solutions Developer

goto.archi | Oslo, Norway

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 12, 2017 at 6:20:20 PM | WWHub

#4

bitslap


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 29, 2016
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting WWHub from 2016-12-23 10:48:58

When you initially save your family, do you close all other views and save from the plan or are you saving from the 3D view?

 Sorry about the delay.  I've tried closing all other views before saving and closing.  When I reopen the family, it still defaults to '3D Views->View 1'



Edited on: Thu, Jan 12, 2017 at 6:21:10 PM

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 13, 2017 at 11:18:04 AM | Open Family Editor in Floor Plan View by Default

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


While home view is available for projects, I don't remember it for families.  Open your family to your plan view and close all other views.   Now save this with a new filename, close then open that family.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Plan in Revit Family Editor Differs from Plan in Model

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 14, 2017 at 2:18:10 PM

2

Window does not show cut in Plan view of family editor and also in the project.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 15, 2017 at 1:59:02 PM

2

Ref Level Missing in Family Editor 2013

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 22, 2013 at 5:05:39 PM

1

Furniture Family Disappears on Floor Plan View Only

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 28, 2011 at 2:05:14 PM

1

family editor views

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 21, 2006 at 5:56:49 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

2004360

Objects:

22887

Forum Posts:

152177

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.1311

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights