RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

396 Users Online (210 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Issue with Downloaded Revit Family

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Dec 5, 2016 at 11:28:28 PM | Issue with Downloaded Revit Family

#1

billy7860


active

Joined: Sat, Mar 19, 2016
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi Guys,

I'd be grateful for anyones help on this matter please. I've just downloaded the attached family file and loaded it into my revit project. I can see the entire bed in 3d mode, but only an outline in ground floor plan of my project file. Am i missing something here? i've tried to ply around with view range in the editting mode of the family file but to no avail.

 

Many thanks,

 

Regards,

B



This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 6, 2016 at 12:48:38 AM | Issue with Downloaded Revit Family

#2

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Prob a mask region in family in plan with all 3D objects made invisible in plan only. Open family in family editor and delete mask and select each 3D object and change its plan visibility to on. Using a mask speeds up the processing.

-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 6, 2016 at 4:18:29 AM | Issue with Downloaded Revit Family

#3

raja15


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 21, 2011
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Left click on the "Import Symbol" to select it, and in your toolbar under the Modify tab select "Visibility Settings"

 

In the dialog box, tick "Plan/RCP" and click OK.

 

Try loading that into your revit project & see if it shows the element in plan view now.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 6, 2016 at 12:36:14 PM | Issue with Downloaded Revit Family

#4

billy7860


active

Joined: Sat, Mar 19, 2016
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi Both,

Thank you for your prompt response. I'm newbie to Revit, so the mask region is a new concept for me, the instructions provided by Raja worked a treat, so thank you both in any case.

 

I have another Q, i'm having trouble with an intersection detail, the "T" juncture of an external cavity wall, and an internal separating wall comprising cavity construction. I attach image below for illustration. I've tried to play around with wall profile, and the wall join tool, but cant seem to form a gap to create a continuous cavity.

 

Many thanks,

B



Attached Images

151937_Capture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 6, 2016 at 1:15:37 PM | Issue with Downloaded Revit Family

#5

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


This can be fixed by going into the properties of both walls and moving the elements you want to wrap (in this case the block) outside of the core. If you have the air space as the core of the one wall and then use a membrane layer or sheathin or insulation as your core material in your exterior wall it will wrap properly.

 

When dealing with wrapping elements of walls the finishes wrap with finishes and the core wraps with core


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 6, 2016 at 2:32:37 PM | Issue with Downloaded Revit Family

#6

billy7860


active

Joined: Sat, Mar 19, 2016
0 Posts
No Rating


Marmiketin,

 

You absolute legend! that explained the issue and solution perfectly and worked! Thank you Smile.

 

I may have a few questions as i work my way through my first revit project. As a matter of interest, what would you guys do in the event of traditional shop front designs requiring multiple options for discussion with the local councils. For example, we deal with a few existing historic buildings requiring traditional shopfronts. This would generally comprise of timber bi folds with traditional mouldings applied. In AC, these are simple lined drawings and sections to convey the idea. How would you approach something like this in Revit, as you couldn't work on manipulating a family file in isolation, the design of the shopfront would have to be viewed in context with the entire elevations i.e. existing stone mullions above, and retaining verticality any shopfront design proposals.

 

I attach an example of a recent project undertaken in AC to better explain what i'm after.

 

Many thanks,

B



Attached Images

151939_2.PNG

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Changing colour for revit family downloaded from revitcity

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 6, 2015 at 3:44:53 PM

1

Downloaded family cannot be moved from desktop

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 9, 2010 at 1:02:20 PM

2

issue with downloaded files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 25, 2007 at 4:58:59 AM

0

Question for downloaded Pella DH Family

Community >> The Studio

Sat, Apr 1, 2006 at 5:49:17 AM

1

Not All Downloaded Revit Families Appear After Loading

Community >> Newbies

Sat, Mar 19, 2011 at 5:21:22 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1455404

Objects:

20455

Forum Posts:

150543

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 12.2839

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights