RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

62 Users Online (61 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Wall Opening

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 17, 2006 at 5:15:40 AM | Wall Opening

#1

3dshed


active
3dshed Avatar

Joined: Tue, Feb 21, 2006
3 Posts
No Rating


Hi, Have edited a window opening in a family and have made it to big. How do i re edit the wall to fill the bit of the opening that i do not need. TIA 3dShed

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 19, 2006 at 2:26:31 AM | RE: Wall Opening

#2

fazerneil


active

Joined: Thu, May 6, 2004
116 Posts
4 Stars: 4 Votes


Resize the opening in the original family

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 19, 2006 at 5:26:53 AM | RE: Wall Opening

#3

iqlayser


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 5, 2006
71 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


Or u can select the opening u made and edit it. just hold the cursor near the wall and opening and hit TAB until it marks the opening

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 30, 2007 at 2:06:16 PM | Wall Opening

#4

MrBob


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 19, 2006
63 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Is it possible to control the depth of a wall opening?  I have one window that needs to be placed in a masonry opening on the outside but up against a stud wall on the interior.  Not sure how to do this.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 10, 2007 at 4:51:57 PM | MrBob

#5

Micah


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 20, 2007
2 Posts
No Rating


I've been wondering this as well.  Anybody know a workaround?

Quoting MrBob from 2007-01-30 14:06:16

 

"Is it possible to control the depth of a wall opening?  I have one window that needs to be placed in a masonry opening on the outside but up against a stud wall on the interior.  Not sure how to do this.  Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks."


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 10, 2007 at 10:24:02 PM | Wall Opening

#6

sdbrown


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 12, 2003
168 Posts
5 Stars: 3 Votes


YOu need to build your window with an inset parameter.  To do this, open the family, add a ref. plane in plan that will locate the exterior face of the frame. Then place a dim from the ext. face of the wall to this ref. plane, label it inset, then when you create your window frame align it with this ref. plane.  Note you can either make this inset parameter an instance based parameter or type depending on how flexible you want to be.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Control the depth of a wall opening?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 19, 2011 at 2:09:23 PM

10

Wall Openings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 9, 2009 at 2:40:22 PM

7

Why does the wall opening cut only go up 2/3 the height of the wall?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Feb 18, 2007 at 8:53:25 AM

7

Windows/opening/curtain system on inclined wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 21, 2009 at 5:16:45 AM

4

Wall opening family in slanted wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 6, 2012 at 2:50:57 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1986951

Objects:

22874

Forum Posts:

152182

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8149

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights