RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

218 Users Online (95 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Dome roof

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 17, 2006 at 3:01:48 AM | Dome roof

#1

Carver


active

Joined: Wed, May 17, 2006
6 Posts
No Rating


I am having some trouble drawing a dome roof. The trouble is that it is a dome that is square in plan. Imagine a dome that tapers down to meet a the corners of a square structure. Does this sound impossible to model in Revit? Thanks a bucket.

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 17, 2006 at 3:21:41 AM | RE: Dome roof

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


Is this sort of what you're after?

Attached Images

Dome Square.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, May 17, 2006 at 3:43:01 AM | RE: Dome roof

#3

Carver


active

Joined: Wed, May 17, 2006
6 Posts
No Rating


Yes, Well very similar anyway. the top should be spherical. Like a dome but this would be close enough. Can you fillet the edges where the egdes meet aswell? Cheers

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 17, 2006 at 10:22:47 AM | RE: Dome roof

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


You could easily sweep another void along the edges to smooth it off a bit, i was just keeping it simple and reducing the number of lines. Its created as a mass and consists of two sweep solids and two sweep voids. All very simple arcs. Let me know if you want the file.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, May 17, 2006 at 3:15:15 PM | RE: Dome roof

#5

arch00


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 28, 2006
59 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Mr. Spot would it be possible if I get a copy of this file as well I would like to try and learn how to use this command. Just curious if you are running your version of Revit on a Mac platform, cause it looks very similiar to it. Thanks Gar

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 17, 2006 at 3:49:09 PM | RE: Dome roof

#6

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


i think he is using s program called Flyakite OSX which run on windows and simulates the mac here is a link http://osx.portraitofakite.com/

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 18, 2006 at 2:42:30 AM | RE: Dome roof

#7

Carver


active

Joined: Wed, May 17, 2006
6 Posts
No Rating


Mr Spot, Thanks, I tried this approach but I still wanted a spherical top. With some help from my teacher I have revolved a dome so the leading edge meets the very corner of where the walls meet. Then placed a void to cut the over hang from the outside face. From here I'll just attach the walls to the dome. It's a simple approach and it's not spot on but it might have to do. I'll attach a JPEG when I work out how.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 2, 2010 at 5:05:01 PM | Dome roof

#8

Uncluesteve


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 10, 2008
3 Posts
No Rating


I have a dome structure we started to design.  I had to do the main layout in AutoCAD then create a mass object in Revit to start the beam layout.  Unfortunately Revit does not like to place objects out in space, especially when there are not parallel to a floor plan.

Attached Images

74642_enspher_dome.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 2, 2010 at 5:14:20 PM | Dome roof

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


For something like that, i would rotate the dome back to my xy plane - create what i had to, then roatate everything back.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 2, 2010 at 5:23:35 PM | Dome roof

#10

Uncluesteve


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 10, 2008
3 Posts
No Rating


Tried that.  unfortunately Revit does not like to rotate beams and columns.  They tend to move all over the place.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 5, 2010 at 12:26:42 PM | Dome roof

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


Are you really using (structural) beams or just beam like objects?  Although structural elements can be a problem, components created in place will rotate just fine.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 5, 2010 at 3:15:47 PM | Dome roof

#12

Uncluesteve


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 10, 2008
3 Posts
No Rating


Creating  nearly 160 work planes so I can create a In-place object would nearly be imposable to do accurately.   I am trying to create a model that a structural engineer can use to correctly size the beams and connection plates.  See the DWF file for a better illustration.

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 5, 2010 at 6:50:27 PM | Dome roof

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


I think your missing the power of Revit.  You need to do something like Mr. Spot did here: http://blog.cadway.com.au/

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 5, 2011 at 11:56:01 PM | Mr Spot

#14

halozero


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 21, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


Quoting Mr Spot from 2006-05-16 22:21:41

"Is this sort of what you're after? "

I NEED THAT DOME SQUARE ON REVIT, DO YOU HVE IT? I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR IT EVERYWHERE.

Attached Images

86915_Dome_Square.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 17, 2011 at 1:52:22 PM | Dome roof

#15

tuneslover


active

Joined: Sat, Aug 28, 2010
2 Posts
No Rating


Ohkk..it you don't have any other way then you can do it in 'Revit Family' and import it in your project.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dome Roof?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 1, 2007 at 7:16:39 PM

0

Dome roof openings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Aug 16, 2005 at 8:37:24 AM

2

Dome Roof

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 27, 2006 at 5:32:46 AM

3

Create a half dome

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 11, 2019 at 11:37:42 PM

2

Dome Roof for Astronomy club

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 31, 2006 at 10:08:07 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1494936

Objects:

21165

Forum Posts:

151161

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4112

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights