RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

209 Users Online (102 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Sep 15, 2016 at 12:18:44 PM | Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

#1

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Does anyone know of a way to have elements in a radial array shift vertically around the radius. As in the first element is at 0 elevation and the last is at 1m and all the elements between are spread equally between those heights. This would make the array into a helical pattern. 

This can be done with linear arrays (you can have them spread along the line and across a height change) but I dont think it is possible with native revit with radial arrays through my testing.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 15, 2016 at 3:39:40 PM | Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

#2

Bartholomew


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 7, 2012
0 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Interesting question, marmiketin1; distribute an element evenly spaced around a helix shape path sounds a lot like what Revit is doing when it places a balusters around a spiral staircase. 

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 15, 2016 at 5:15:33 PM | Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

#3

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Yes that is exactly what revit does for railings around a curved stair. Unfortunately I need something that can be that doesnt always have to be vertical. It is likely something that can be done with an adaptive family too using divided paths but i was hoping for something a bit simpler. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 15, 2016 at 6:02:04 PM | marmiketin1

#4

Bartholomew


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 7, 2012
0 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Quoting marmiketin1 from 2016-09-15 07:18:44

"

This can be done with linear arrays (you can have them spread along the line and across a height change)...

"

Correct me if I’m wrong, but I envision that your linear array, in this case, is not changing height or orientation in relation to the work plane – the work plane itself is sloped and the elements being arrayed are hosted to that work plane. Is this not so? 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 15, 2016 at 8:16:00 PM | Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

#5

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


No with a linear array you can lock the first element to one workplane and then lock the last element to another workplane and then dimension between those planes and when you adjust the distance the elements shift accordingly between the 2 planes. I have made several fence families which use this

 

heres one of the families i have made http://www.revitcity.com/downloads.php?action=view&object_id=17687



Edited on: Thu, Sep 15, 2016 at 3:17:38 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 15, 2016 at 8:34:14 PM | Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

#6

Bartholomew


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 7, 2012
0 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Great Tip! I’ve never used that before. Wicked cool! Thanks.

 

BTW: Keep us posted on your helix array challenge. I’d be interested how you solve it. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 16, 2016 at 1:09:50 PM | Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

#7

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I have been trying to do this with an adaptive family and was able to create a helix using a spline passing through several reference points but for some reason I am not able to create a solid using that spline and a profile. I would create the helical form using swept blends but those do not actually create a proper helix unfortunately


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 17, 2016 at 1:08:19 AM | Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

#8

Bartholomew


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 7, 2012
0 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


I think what you did first, was create a divided path from your spline line. Isn’t that right? If so, you’re probably picking the divided path and profile to make the solid sweep, so it’s not giving you the option to create form. That’s because you can’t create a form by picking the profile and divided path. Tab to select the spline line hosting the divided path and have your profile follow that line to make the sweep. It should work. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Sep 19, 2016 at 12:11:57 PM | Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

#9

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


i was not selecting the divided path i was tab selecting to the spline. Maybe its because the spline is a reference line and not a model line. Although I have made forms using reference lines before. I am not sure


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 20, 2016 at 12:32:21 AM | Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

#10

Bartholomew


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 7, 2012
0 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Marmiketin1, there’s a pretty cool cat on YouTube named HyunWooKim who demonstrates how to do a lot of wicked cool stuff like this. Check out is channel at https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCaKybYEb-69SZZGdN-iMudg . He’ll inspire you. Ain’t no sound, but he’s pretty methodical and easy to follow along with. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 20, 2016 at 12:06:49 PM | Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

#11

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Ive seen some of his videos before. He definitely does some awesome stuff


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Radial array in Families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 28, 2013 at 8:04:01 AM

7

Radial Array in a Family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 at 1:56:12 AM

2

Parametric Radial Array

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 14, 2011 at 7:39:23 AM

6

Radial array in families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:30:59 AM

2

Revit array with dissimilar elements?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Oct 1, 2011 at 6:03:03 AM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1758815

Objects:

22373

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0591

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights