RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

194 Users Online (79 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 29, 2016 at 5:28:04 PM | Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

#1

RMutt1917


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 7, 2011
0 Posts
No Rating


So I have created some detail families with lots of line weights but when i put them into the project and try and edit the family my lineweights are gone. 

If I unload family from project, load it again, and immediatily edit i can see all lineweights, then close it edit again and lineweights are gone.

Is the project somehow overiding subcatagories?

Any help would be appreciated.

 



Attached Images

147053_Loaded_Family.jpg147053_Unloaded_Family.jpg147053_Subcatagories.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 29, 2016 at 5:43:46 PM | Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

#2

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 10 Votes


Im a little confused as to why you have so many line styles within your detail item family when it seems that you only have 4 lines drawn in the family itself (2 sides and 2 ends) and then the rest of the lines making the plywood is just a hatch. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 29, 2016 at 5:59:12 PM | Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

#3

RMutt1917


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 7, 2011
0 Posts
No Rating


Every time i want the detail to have a different lineweight i edit family and save as.  Or at least that was my plan. The office is big on lineweights and i m trying to find the best way to control them.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 29, 2016 at 7:09:37 PM | Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

#4

Bartholomew


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 7, 2012
0 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Once the Family’s Object Style Subcategory has been loaded into the Project, you change the line weight through the Project Object Styles -- not by editing the line weight in the family. The line weights that are set in the Project are not over-written  when you change them in the Family and reload into the Project. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 29, 2016 at 7:20:04 PM | Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Bartholomew has given you the correct answer.   I'm just writing to say that's a crazy number of linetypes.  Maybe because I started drafting in the n'60's where we only used about 3 lead types.  But I think its more then that.  The crazy number of lineweights started with CAD.

 

We only use 3 basic line weights for 99% of our documents - Light, Medium and Heavy and we have those in the other linetypes as well.  Just because you can see the difference on the screen doesn't mean you can see it in the documents.  In a print, you will not see the difference between a 2 in the same area as a 3.  It really takes 2 - 3 pen numbers before you can see the difference in a print.  We do have some extra hevy lineweights for borders and such as well as a very thing for some items but beyond the basic 3 pens, your just creating a lot of work.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 29, 2016 at 7:44:56 PM | Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

#6

Bartholomew


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 7, 2012
0 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Hi, WWHub. I'm curious to know what part of what I said is incorrect? 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 29, 2016 at 7:56:29 PM | Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Read again Bartholomew - I said 'Correct'.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 29, 2016 at 8:11:51 PM | Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

#8

Bartholomew


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 7, 2012
0 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


My apologies to you, WWHub. Thanks the for clarification.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 29, 2016 at 9:09:11 PM | Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

#9

RMutt1917


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 7, 2011
0 Posts
No Rating


I Know, but i am trying to transition this office from ACAD to Revit and all I hear is how terrible revit drawings look when printed. Ergo all the concern(maybe too much) on lineweights.  And i am no Revit expert, so just plodding along.

Ok, so let me get this straight.  

Once family is loaded line weight is controlled by object styles per view.  Got it. From here whatever I named the line weight when I created the family I can change it in Object Styles and it will change all the corresponding line weights in the view.

And if I want to change lineweight of the entire object, I rt click and go to Override Graphics in View.

So Basically draw everything first and go back and adjust lineweights as needed.

Why the hell did I make all those subcatagories? Let me try and answer my own question...so i can have all those lineweights to choose from when making my detail family, which kind of doesn't matter since i can change lineweights in each view.

Clarity, I think.

Thanks All

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 29, 2016 at 11:22:07 PM | Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


I can understand why you may want a lot of flexibility but now that you understand a little better, you may want to rethink your naming.   Instead of having a large number of linetypes that are specific in name to match their thickness, you may find that a more generic name like thick/thin or narrow/wide etc is far easier to understand and use.  If you build all of your families with this very large group, you will be living with them a long time.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 30, 2016 at 12:52:19 AM | RMutt1917

#11

Bartholomew


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 7, 2012
0 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Quoting RMutt1917 from 2016-08-29 16:09:11

"

Why the hell did I make all those subcatagories? Let me try and answer my own question...so i can have all those lineweights to choose from when making my detail family, which kind of doesn't matter since i can change lineweights in each view.

 

"

There’s another advantage to having Subcategories.

Subcategories provide the means to control the visibility and graphics of particular family elements in a project view, as well as to be able to easily identify those elements by their unique Subcategory name in the view’s VG dialog box. 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 30, 2016 at 11:52:17 AM | Detail Family Line weight sub-catoagories gone when family put into project

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


I agree that sub categories are a good thing and I use them, just not to the degree shown here.   But if you are going to change a "PO1" line to a #2 pen in VG that will be confusing.  That's why I recommend the Thin/Thick type of labeling.  All of your detail should easily conform to that concept with just a few pens.  You will want to keep the stock ones as primary because of the libraries.   And when you find the stock Detail/Thin really needs to be a #2 instead of a #1, you can set it in your template (Object Styles) and fix the current and future documents.

 

This was part of the problems in CAD.   People were setting individual lineweights and there was no way to control them, find them or change them universally.  Revit's process is so much better but like all things Revit:  YOU HAVE TO THINK AHEAD.   Do you know enough to do that when you start?   NO!  I sure didn't and I made a lot of mistakes that took a long time to correct.  This forum gives us the opportuity to put those problems out there for consideration.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Line weight in family doesn't equal line weight in project

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 31, 2013 at 7:54:29 PM

2

Line Weight as Family Parameter

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 16, 2007 at 9:23:58 PM

1

Making Line Weight a Parameter?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 19, 2007 at 6:59:55 PM

0

change line weight in a family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jul 3, 2010 at 10:12:25 PM

2

Line thickness in detail family

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 1, 2015 at 12:09:56 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1771627

Objects:

22438

Forum Posts:

151914

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.7751

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights