RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

42 Users Online (41 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Curtain wall model group

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jul 20, 2016 at 11:45:06 AM | Curtain wall model group

#1

mgblakeley0518


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


I'm using Revit 2016 and a team member created a few model groups of a curtain wall with a sliding door (downloaded from here I believe) and windows/mullions in various needed configurations. 

I now need to tag these doors so they are in the door schedule, however the doors were initially placed as a curtain wall panel or are a curtain wall panel component and, from what I understand, this is what is preventing me from being able to tag the door. I have tried to edit the model group and replace the door panel with a curtain wall door which can be tagged. Nothing else about the group has changed, I haven't moved any grids or mullions or changed sizes. However, the model group will not save in the group. The changes will remain but the group breaks apart. The error message I'm getting says something about all of the pieces not being acceptable in the group. 

I'd really prefer not to redo all of these curtain walls and am wondering if there is a reasonable way around this issue. I really need to keep the groups as they're repeated throughout the project.

I am not concerned with being able to tag the windows - I'm not sure how we are going to address windows yet, but the curtain wall will not be tagged as a wall at any point, that's just the method of creating the window that was chosen. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 20, 2016 at 1:00:53 PM | Curtain wall model group

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


Did you only group for easy placement?   If so, then simply ungroup.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 20, 2016 at 2:01:09 PM | Curtain wall model group

#3

mgblakeley0518


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Actually, if I could tag this as a window also or instead of a door, that would be great as well. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 20, 2016 at 2:02:58 PM | WWHub

#4

mgblakeley0518


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting WWHub from 2016-07-20 13:00:53

"

Did you only group for easy placement?   If so, then simply ungroup.

"

It's grouped so that when one changes they all change. There are several in the model and they will all need to be tagged and they all need to remain the same. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 21, 2016 at 6:28:25 AM | Curtain wall model group

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


If all elements in the group have the same items, then simply edit the CW changing the panel to your door.   It is still tagable in the project.  Their are some items you don't want in groups because you need them to be unique.   For instance, we don't include rooms in groups because we later need to modify some of the room parameters on an instance basis.  For doors in a CW, if you use type based tags, the then changing one changes them all.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 21, 2016 at 7:50:44 AM | Curtain wall model group

#6

mgblakeley0518


active

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


I was changing the panel to a door and for whatever reason Revit wouldn't then save the group. I tried again a while late and it worked. I did nothing different but it worked. I was also able to change out all the other door panels to doors in my other similar groups with no problems at that point....The joys of Revit Smile 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 21, 2016 at 8:04:07 AM | Curtain wall model group

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 388 Votes


I have never seen that problem except for user error or system problems, neither being Revit issues. Try to keep an open mind and look for the real cause of your problems.  That will benefit you greatly in the longer run.   I too was initially very skeptable of the problems we were having with Revit.  But trying to look deeper at our probhlems helped us to learn what we were doing wrong.   Remember, this is not a single user program.  You may be doing everything correctly but other users can be creating problems.  When you identify those and educate them, the productivity increases very rapidly. 

 

Anyway, its good that it now works for you.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Error Message when i try moving curtain wall in a group

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 18, 2013 at 12:46:57 PM

5

Curtain Wall Panel to Curtain Wall Door

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 9:32:11 AM

7

model groups with wall hosted object??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 2, 2008 at 7:14:55 PM

3

Curtain Wall Doors

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 27, 2013 at 10:57:21 AM

4

Timber curtain wall system

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 8, 2013 at 7:40:34 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1963928

Objects:

22850

Forum Posts:

152159

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 7.9011

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights