RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

31 Users Online (30 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit ROI >> Title Blocks got HUGE! :D

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jul 4, 2016 at 7:06:29 AM | Title Blocks got HUGE! :D

#1

hybritect


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 30, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Hello all around!

I recently had the same issue two times for three months so I decided to address it. 

I got DWGs with Title Block layouts and I had to turn them to Revit families.

What I did - I imported the DWGs to a new Family, converted the lines to a purely Revit ones and copied them to a new family so I'd lose the DWG materials and line styles. I have 6-7 different page sizes which I switch with visibility parameters. Whole Family was around 400 kb.

Everything was fine until somebody from the team tried to change some of the mapped parameters. After failing to do so, I got contacted and saw that the Title Block family was super slow to load and was more than 50 MB!! I checked the loaded family - no unnecessary materials, line styles, hatches or whatever. Nothing imported. Purge unused didn't help a bit...

This happened two times in the same Project resulting in throwing the families away or changing them with an earlier version...

 

 

Does anyone have any ideas?     Revit 2015 (no R2) 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 10, 2016 at 6:32:43 AM | Title Blocks got HUGE! :D

#2

Gods


active

Joined: Sun, Jul 10, 2016
0 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Purge? Compress?Use Ideate Explorer to see if there are any dwgs hidden in the family?Do you have fill regions in the title for things like logos and text? Were these all deleted as DWG content and replaced with Revit fill regions?Importing AutoCad content into Revit and exploding it does cause a whole heap of useless DWG content to import into the Revit family/model. Content that can't be purged automatically but must be purged manually. Look through linetypes, line patterns, fill regions, fill patterns to see if there is anything in there not needed and delete it.

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 11, 2016 at 3:56:39 AM | Title Blocks got HUGE! :D

#3

hybritect


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 30, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi, sure I checked those.

No DWGs, materials, linetypes or anything. Everything is Revit lines and fill patterns. 

We are talking unusual behavour in Revit. I could actually link it to an falty DWG in the project. I found out a few days later about it and removed it and its materials and lines with the redbike plugin. Since then the title blocks started to grow and need to be changed every day.... A collegue of mine said that he had a similar experience after a falty DWG Import directly into the progject.

...some architects never learn Puh

 

cheers


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 11, 2016 at 7:48:55 AM | Title Blocks got HUGE! :D

#4

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 10 Votes


unless you post the family we really have no way of figure out what the issue is.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 11, 2016 at 10:29:59 AM | Title Blocks got HUGE! :D

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


Were some CAD filled regions exploded?  That would result in hundreds of lines.   In the family, window some areas and look at the number of elements. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 14, 2016 at 4:49:24 AM | Title Blocks got HUGE! :D

#6

hybritect


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 30, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


OK, folks! I figured it out.

It was the old standart materials Problem. (It crossed my mind, but I didn't try it until now) I used the macro and everything is back to normal. It removed aroud 1 200 000+ materials - A new personal record :D

 

The macro: https://knowledge.autodesk.com/support/revit-products/troubleshooting/caas/sfdcarticles/sfdcarticles/File-performance-problem-in-Revit-2015.html#mtc-german

cheerz to everyone who tried to help

 

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Delete or Purge out Title Blocks?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 26, 2008 at 5:06:00 PM

2

Customize new Title Blocks

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Sep 21, 2009 at 2:55:19 PM

1

Sheets Title Blocks

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 6, 2015 at 2:30:16 PM

2

Title blocks

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 2:53:44 PM

2

creating custom title blocks

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 22, 2007 at 2:29:40 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

2009855

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152196

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3957

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights