RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

412 Users Online (222 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Roof and constructional roof beams!!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Apr 10, 2006 at 3:59:26 PM | Roof and constructional roof beams!!

#1

elvis


active

Joined: Fri, May 21, 2004
135 Posts
No Rating


Hi all,

I am dealing with a complex roof that is based on wooden beams each 610mm, with in the ridges [corners] steelprofiles, these beams support anunderlayment with on that roof tiles on smaller profiles.

I started to create the roof with the roofing tool, but I never could detail the roof better thenjustthis "mass".

My question is; is there a way to populate the initial created roof with structural elements in a parametric sense?

at the moment my roof is underdetailled compared to the rest!

hinge: the way we can modify the vertical structure of a wall, could this work for roofs aswell? respecting the roofs slope angles, so each sloped part of a roof should individually be populated with structural parts.

or did I miss this tutorial maybe?

E

p.s. is there aswell a way, not only to hatch, but aswell to array roof tiles on the created roof with there support?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 11, 2006 at 6:30:01 AM | RE: Roof and constructional roof beams!!

#2

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


elvis, it is not possible to create a "structural element" roof just yet out of the box, sounds like you have a very complicated roof and I wont be spending my time modeling each and every component. what you can do maybe is to array some beams on a plane to a point, don't waste time on hip corners... you can use the "beam system" under your structural tab and set the roof sheet (say 40mm metal sheet) as your plane. HTH just yell if you need more help but this should put you on the right path...

-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 11, 2006 at 3:06:11 PM | RE: Roof and constructional roof beams!!

#3

elvis


active

Joined: Fri, May 21, 2004
135 Posts
No Rating


thnxs eldados, I think this could be a wish-list item, because the wall property's d go way beyond the roof property's and so to say, each project does have a roof doesn' it. I am fed up with the vertical structure properties of the wall types, like integrating ringbeams in the core of the wall. I just wondered if doing the same was possible to create roof beams like rafters. nog I just can layer a certain distance, for example the height of the rafters but leave this space empty, so a lack of information. I just can reserve the space for constructional elements. whish list items: - while generating the default roof scape: create automatically reference planes according to the slope of all roof parts. - create automatically labelled dimensions with the width, height etc. - and prepare array possibilities to populate the roofmodel with structional elements, like rafters, hip rafters, roof tiles arrays + support

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 11, 2006 at 10:43:36 PM | RE: Roof and constructional roof beams!!

#4

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


like I said, you can use the beam system and you might be surprise what you can do with it Smile i have attached a quick image of what I mean, (very quick)

Attached Images

4roof.JPG

-----------------------------------

Integrator

Architectural Engineering Construction

KarelCAD

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 13, 2006 at 1:11:39 PM | RE: Roof and constructional roof beams!!

#5

elvis


active

Joined: Fri, May 21, 2004
135 Posts
No Rating


thnxs, curious as i am, but the image won't download at the moment! i will try later again grtz E Post edited on 2006-04-13 08:12:55

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jul 6, 2010 at 5:52:44 AM | Roof and constructional roof beams!!

#6

Bracciali


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 29, 2010
8 Posts
No Rating


1.  Begin assembly of the Gables and Roof Beams in Step 12 of the Arrow manual.  Do not mount the roof panels at this time, just the above metal framing. 

2.  Cut the wooden roof frame from 2x4s using the dimensions above.  Make sure the corners are mitered and square. Corner reinforcement using iron L's on the top and bottom of the corners will provide adequate rigidity. Be sure you use the best 2x4s available that are dry and not warped.

3.  Turn the frame over and mount the castors.  I used and recommend plain plastic 2" castors with fixed rollers. They should have metal bases that can be attached with wood screws.  Place 4 of them equidistantly on each side of the frame.  The castors should be centered in the middle of the 2x4.  Draw a center line along the length of the 2x4 as a guide. The roof structure is very light so that castor strength is not that important.  There is no need for metal castors or steel guide rails or the like using this kit.

4.  Turn the frame back over so it is now resting on the castors. 

5.  Place the Gables and Roof Beam assembly on the wood frame.  Center it and square it.  The 2x4 frame should extend about 1 inch on both sides of the front and back gable.

6.  Screw down the gable assembly using the holes that are already drilled.  If you want to add a few extra screws, go ahead.

7.  This assembly will still be wobbly until the roof panels are added later.

________________

roofing contractors

 

Edited on: Tue, Jul 6, 2010 at 12:53:51 AM

Edited on: Tue, Jul 6, 2010 at 12:55:08 AM

-----------------------------------

Don Blankenship

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Canted beams (vertical axis following roof)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 24, 2006 at 3:35:44 PM

2

ROOF HIDING ROOF BEAMS! DANGEROUS SITUATION THAT AUTODESK ISN'T ADDRESSING!

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 6, 2012 at 7:48:10 PM

7

crickets for complex roof w/ multi slopes attached to beams

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 1, 2008 at 8:13:45 PM

7

should roof rafter on top of the roof or under the roof.

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 28, 2009 at 5:41:36 PM

5

Extreme Slope at Roof Edge After Attaching Roof to Beams Using "Pick Supports"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 28, 2012 at 4:58:23 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1507510

Objects:

21229

Forum Posts:

151227

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4232

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights