RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

201 Users Online (97 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Disassociating work plane

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Apr 21, 2016 at 2:54:10 PM | Disassociating work plane

#1

pwoolson


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 9, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


I'm really struggling with a work plane issue.

I'm creating metal trusses from scratch using plate extrusions. When creating the extrusion, I used workplanes to locate the piece (either grid line or named refrence plane) and then disassociated the piece. However, when I try to move it, it will only go in one direction like it does when it is associate to a work plane. When I check, there is no association.

When I go all the way into the extrusion I can move those lines where I need to but that will be a complete pain in the neck to do for each piece in the truss. Any thoughts?

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 21, 2016 at 3:19:56 PM | Disassociating work plane

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


Are you talking about in the family, in the project or in an in-place family?   Have you tried checking the disjoin box on the options line?   NOTE:   This will delete any associated dimensions or tags.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 21, 2016 at 3:23:52 PM | Disassociating work plane

#3

pwoolson


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 9, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Each element of the truss is an in placed modeled extrusion. Does that help you?

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 21, 2016 at 3:31:01 PM | Disassociating work plane

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


Did you try what I suggested?

 

In-place models should really be used for one of a kind elements.

 

BTW - Revit is always associating objects, sketch lines, annotative lines with other elements in you projects.  


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 21, 2016 at 4:10:28 PM | Disassociating work plane

#5

pwoolson


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 9, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


As it turns out, I had the "constrain" copy checked. I was thinking I wanted to make sure they were all in a nice straight line but it only wanted to constrain along the original associated path.

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Set roof or soffit on work plane?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 2, 2013 at 6:57:49 PM

14

Work Plane Error

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 5, 2009 at 2:41:13 PM

2

get rid of current work plane and 3D snapping

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 10, 2006 at 9:26:52 AM

0

Orient a view perpendicular to a work plane

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 18, 2009 at 5:52:39 AM

5

Floor & Work Plane Error Message

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 5, 2017 at 1:01:02 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1758815

Objects:

22373

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 4.2152

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights