RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

174 Users Online (51 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Locating a Coordinate...

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 20, 2016 at 4:43:07 PM | Locating a Coordinate...

#1

dvgareth77


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 20, 2015
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I have uploaded a topographical survey. 

I have placed the building and the various site items. However there are small changes made to a critical boundary wall. I have been provided with coordinates to place the item but...

How do i place a wall at a specific coordinate in Revit...?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 20, 2016 at 5:06:06 PM | Locating a Coordinate...

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


Find your survey base point and go from that.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 21, 2016 at 8:58:59 AM | Locating a Coordinate...

#3

dvgareth77


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 20, 2015
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I have my survey base point 10000, 10000 [for arguements sake] and i have 0,0 correct. I dont see [or know] how that helps me finding an ambiguous 104.962E, 99.202N point on my setting out plan. 

In AutoCAD i would type the coord in...Revit doesnt afford me that option does it? I may be missing something?

I only have the spot coordinate function which requires a point to attach its self. That point doesnt exist in my drawing as yet... as i have been given the coordinates by the survey to insert into the drawing.

Apologies if i am missing something blatently obvious here...

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 21, 2016 at 1:13:24 PM | Locating a Coordinate...

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


You said you had a site survey.   A typical survey has a base point, all property lines using bearings and distance, and it may include topographical information.  Under the massing and site tab is the property line tab.  Using that, you can lay out the property according to the survey. 

 

I prefer to use the table because it is far easier to enter the data like the one shown below.



Attached Images

145112_Capture.JPG

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 21, 2016 at 2:48:21 PM | Locating a Coordinate...

#5

dvgareth77


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 20, 2015
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thats a great help and i know how to do it in the future...

I have cheated in that i went back to the AutoCAD file and entered it there...

Much appreicated!


This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 21, 2016 at 3:45:21 PM | Locating a Coordinate...

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 369 Votes


BTW,

 

I just cheated on a project to get an approximate real location of my survey point.  The survey showed the center of an intersection which you can see on my image above but no coordinates were given.

 

I un-paperclipped my survey point and moved it to that location but the NS/EW coordiates where not set correctly.   I went to google maps and visulally picked the center of that street intersection.   Not exact but it gives you real world coordinates good enough for sun studies.  With the suvey pont still un-paperclipped, I set the coordinates and the survey point moves.  Now you can re-paperclip it and move it to the correct location.

 

In google maps, you can enter the NS,EW coordinates and it will go to that location.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Family with coordinate parameter? - Revit 2010

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 12, 2010 at 8:45:58 AM

11

Why Coordinate System of the input dwg not retained ?

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Jun 29, 2009 at 1:16:05 PM

2

Locating devices in Revit 2014

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 13, 2014 at 1:44:26 PM

1

shared coordinate accuracy

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 6, 2013 at 2:50:17 PM

1

Locating Reference Planes in Elevation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 1, 2008 at 1:05:13 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1632456

Objects:

22066

Forum Posts:

151652

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0660

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights