RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

220 Users Online (87 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> window set back parameter

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Apr 7, 2016 at 8:29:22 PM | window set back parameter

#1

KennedyDrafting


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 24, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


REVIT 2016. 

 

Attched is a window family based on Pella Architectual series famlily with Masonry opening, brick mould and Brick sill added.

Once window is placed in the project (in a wall):  from the properties pallet edit the window type, you must change the Set Back to 5 5/16".  If you change the window size, you have to change the setback value.  

This window family is working pretty nicely and showing the Masonry Opening as we need.  But, how do I get the family to have the 5 5/16" setback every time?      Since I started with the Pella family there are a lot of reference planes.  I can find the Set Back Plane (it is right on top of the MO depth ref plane).     But I can not get the Set Back ref. plane or the set back parameter to change.  When I try, I either get warnings about over constraining or nothing happens.

Any clues?    Any suggestions for improvment are appreciated.

Attached is jpg with window views, the family and the txt file for the sizes. 

 



This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 12, 2016 at 8:21:50 PM | window set back parameter

#2

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 7 Votes


If the setback value is a parameter then you can simply change the default value in the type properties for that particular size. You can edit the type properties by either navigating in the project browser to families / windows / your window / your type and right click and select type properties or you can select a window already in the project and at the top right of the properties window it will say edit type and you can click that to change all type parameter values.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 12, 2016 at 9:06:21 PM | window set back parameter

#3

KennedyDrafting


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 24, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


marmiketin1 - thanks for the reply but how to change a parameter in the project is not the question.      The question is how to get the setback to be desired value for each window type/size of that family?  The setback needs to be changed within the family but for changing the setbace in the family isn't allowed by revit.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 13, 2016 at 12:14:50 PM | window set back parameter

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Setback is a type variable.  Simply set the different types to what you believe the setback to be.  Because this family uses a type catalog, you will have to modify that.

 

NOTE: I think what you are asking for is wrong.  Setback should always be set in the project because every project has different needs.  So if you want to control this in your prject, load the size tyhpes AND EDIT them in the project!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 13, 2016 at 2:41:50 PM | window set back parameter

#5

KennedyDrafting


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 24, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


wwhub - ok but the family has a default setback of 1 5/16".  Why can't I change that default setback?   

Per original post, " But I can not get the Set Back ref. plane or the set back parameter to change.  When I try, I either get warnings about over constraining or nothing happens."


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 13, 2016 at 3:05:56 PM | window set back parameter

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


You have messed with this file but it still works like the original.   I have opened both  the Pella file and your file and I have no problems changing the setback.

 

Notice that setback is from a plane 1 3/8 off the front wall face - not the front wall.



Attached Images

144975_Capture.JPG144975_Capture_1.JPG

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

how do you set a window back from the face of the wall of an exisitng window?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 13, 2012 at 3:36:59 PM

3

window cant tell front from back

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 22, 2011 at 9:53:19 PM

3

making a profile a parameter

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 15, 2011 at 3:25:56 PM

2

window inset parameter for the Revit 2017 OOTB windows

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 22, 2018 at 1:55:22 PM

1

Actual Window Head height

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 7, 2007 at 10:44:29 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1651512

Objects:

22099

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.8106

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights