RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

205 Users Online (50 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Mar 31, 2016 at 4:17:24 PM | Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

#1

MrPotatoHead


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 14, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Hi, I have recieved a revit model from the client and whilst working on it noticed there are a number of walls I can't select. I've done some reading online and it seems it might be to do with something called "design options". Now I understand this is a revit full licence feature and we currently only use Revit LT so is this likely the problem? If so is there any way around this or do I have to contact the client for them to resend the model with the design options "ticked off" (excuse my naivety, still figuring out this revit 'stuff')

 

Any help is much appreciated!

 

Thanks


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 1, 2016 at 12:48:02 PM | Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

#2

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Can you download a full revit version and remove/adopt the design the options, save it and then use Revit LT?


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 1, 2016 at 2:05:12 PM | Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

#3

MrPotatoHead


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 14, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for getting back to me, Beaucoupnice. A subsciption to the full license would cost around £2000 a year which is the reason why the company doesn't have it. Furthermore, I'm not 100% sure if design options is the issue so it would be difficult to convince the director to provide us with one


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 1, 2016 at 2:20:13 PM | Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

#4

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


1) Did you know you can download a demo version of the software and it is free for 30 days? Can you not do this?

2) Put it simply, Revit Lt is curse. Its got too much taken out of it to make it useful and to take full benefit out of BIM. Besides not being able to workshare, do in-place modelling ( WTF!!), render in software, apply filters and create stairs from sketch - I really cannot understand how anyone can justify buying it unless they are so ignorant of what Revit can do and are only looking at the costs. You are working with one arm tied behind your back.

Please for the love of god and all things BIM-holy read my article about Revit vs Revit LT here ( https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/burdensome-bim-3-5-budget-morrow-brady-plansortcom-morrow-brady?trk=mp-reader-card)

Digest it and speak to your Directors about the stupidity of their actions. Get a full blown version of Revit and bin Revit LT.

As for your problem it does sound like design options. If you cannot download the Full Revit demo, dig around in the model and find the orginal author. Contact them and get them to fix it for you and send it back.

 


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 1, 2016 at 2:44:58 PM | Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Why do you need to select any walls?  You should not be working in the model if you are a consultant.

 

With full Revit you would be linking the architect's model and then you can visually control it.  I don't know if this action is possible in the light version.

 

I kind of agree with Beau.  If your office is just principally doing simple projects like houses, you might get away with using Revit light but otherwise, your being foolish.  Revit pays for itself if you learn how to use it.  Our industry's standard of care has increased because of software like this and if you are not providing the same quality as offices that use a product like this, you will lose business and even potentially increase your liability.

 

BTW - You can lease Revit for the duration you need it to do a project.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 1, 2016 at 2:45:24 PM | Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

#6

MrPotatoHead


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 14, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Not sure why it keeps reposting my old post...

 

I will look into that 30 day free trial, thanks Beaucoupnice

 

I completely agree with you with regards to LT handicapping us with BIM, although I understand why my director would go for the LT; he simply doesnt full understand to capabilties of Revit and what the full license can offer so he saw LT as being the "trial" to see if using revit was the right choice (a lot of our clients and other consultants still don't use revit so this hinders our progression towards going BIM ). Granted that the cost of the software had something to do with it as well!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 1, 2016 at 2:59:30 PM | Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


You keep reposting because you don't reopen the thread from the "today's post" tab.   You are refreshing or doing something similar.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 1, 2016 at 5:33:15 PM | Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

#8

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Choosing Revit Lt to test Revit is like choosing to try legs from a wheelchair. He is misinformed and wasting everyone's time including the problem that lies before us which would have been fixed by owning a full version of Revit to begin with. Do him and you a favour and have your boss read my 5 articles on cost saving measures in BIM - start with this one ( https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/burdensome-bim-1-5-budget-morrow-brady-plansortcom-morrow-brady?trk=mp-reader-card)

Client's will never use Revit but you can share your 3D models and allow them to explore them in 3D using a few alternatives including:

1) ONLINE FROM AUTODESK: Read my article here to see how ( https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/view-revit-models-without-software-morrow-brady-morrow-brady?trk=mp-reader-card ).

2) ENSCAPE3D: Enscape3D (see http://www.enscape3d.com/) plugin for Revit and export a 3D model as an executable file so your clients can walkaround and flyaround your fully rendered 3D models at will.

3) 3D PDFs: You can export your 3D model as a 3D file in pdf format that can be opened by the free adobe pdf viewer. There are a few 3D export plugins available from the Autodesk App store ( see https://apps.autodesk.com/RVT/en/List/Search?isAppSearch=True&searchboxstore=RVT&facet=&collection=&sort=&query=3D+pdf)

Regarding consultants who do not use PDF. We found that the consultants we worked with that did not change to Revit, started to get less work with us, as we preferred to work with those that did use Revit. Remember you should not use Revit just because you have to, you should use it to increase your workflow efficiency ( up to 50% (tell that to your boss!)), reduce coordination errors, reduce requests for information and reduce site variations.

Hope that helps.

 

 


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 2, 2016 at 1:34:52 AM | Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

#9

trickhammer


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 15, 2010
0 Posts
No Rating


I also use Revit LT.  Design options does work with LT but for some reason it is not enabled "out-of-the-box".  Had to go to Options>User Interface>Enable Design Options check box.  Hope this helps.

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 4, 2016 at 8:41:58 AM | Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

#10

MrPotatoHead


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 14, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Noted, WWHub thanks. To answer your earlier question, we are architects taken over a project at detailed design stage (old architects were taken off the job for some reasons I don't know) so the client has sent us the old architects tender model for us to use. Sods law there will be some late changes and it happens to be the walls I can't select that need moving

 

You can link in another revit model and control its visibility settings in LT.

 

Interesting articles Beau! I will be sure to mention this at our next team resource meeting. Appreciate the information there and certainly gives me a better understanding of some of the tools Revit has


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 4, 2016 at 8:49:04 AM | Received revit model from client and can't select certain walls

#11

MrPotatoHead


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 14, 2014
0 Posts
No Rating


Trickhammer, thanks for sharing that! Clearly I didn't look hard enough to have missed it there


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Client Model Sharing

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, May 8, 2012 at 1:33:25 PM

4

Giving a 3D Revit Model to a client?

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Aug 17, 2009 at 8:36:10 PM

6

using revolve tool to shape top of walls 'Revit 2012'

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 20, 2013 at 8:47:55 PM

3

Can't select the linked model

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 4, 2014 at 6:06:26 PM

1

Can't select Wall and Grid - Not Design Option fault

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 at 3:30:13 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1668174

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 36.9184

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights