RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

258 Users Online (123 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> image underlay window size limitations 2014/16

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Mar 20, 2016 at 12:58:30 AM | image underlay window size limitations 2014/16

#1

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


So, our office ugraded our monitors to 4K. (42" TVs, it's awesome.)

 

I've noticed that revit totally chokes in imported jpeg underlays. The images tear, the window can take a minute to regenerate after zooming or panning, and oftentimes the image underneath is fuzzy or glitchy when finished.

 

Has anyone else experienced this problem? I'm running a nice enough computer, with 280X graphics, SSD, 24 gigs of ram, etc.  Drivers are reasonably up to date.  The JPEG image size does not seem to matter. a 50KB grayscale JPEG will have the same issues, seeming to cripple revit any time I scale up an image to a size larger than, say, 1/2 my screen. (2000x2000px)

 

Can anyone confirm this is a deficiency with revit?



Edited on: Sat, Mar 19, 2016 at 7:59:29 PM

This user is offline

 

Sun, Mar 20, 2016 at 4:57:58 PM | image underlay window size limitations 2014/16

#2

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


What ru using Jpegs for?


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 21, 2016 at 4:45:26 AM | image underlay window size limitations 2014/16

#3

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


Underlays. Tracing hand-drawn plans or sitework.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 21, 2016 at 7:16:55 AM | image underlay window size limitations 2014/16

#4

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Some options to try. 1) reduce the resolution of the scans in Photoshop before importing them. 2) turn off hardware acceleration in Revit 3) try changing display settings in revit 4) try a different image format such as Bmp, tiff or png. See how u go with those

-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 21, 2016 at 1:56:59 PM | image underlay window size limitations 2014/16

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 359 Votes


I suspect your video card is the problem.   Gaming cards are good for games and some work well with Revit.  But Revit does not need or use all of the functions of a high end gaming card.  I have a low cost NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 and it doesn't seem to have the problems you describe.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 5, 2016 at 9:55:22 PM | image underlay window size limitations 2014/16

#6

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


This issue appears to be fixed as of today's driver updates from AMD. 

 

Got too excited. Still a problem.



Edited on: Tue, Apr 5, 2016 at 5:02:10 PM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit 2014 Point Cloud Benefits/limitations?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 24, 2013 at 1:00:13 PM

6

IS THERE A WAY TO SET AN IMAGE AS AN UNDERLAY IN 3D VIEW

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 5, 2013 at 7:45:30 AM

2

selection window grabs wrong items

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 19, 2012 at 8:05:37 PM

5

Raster Image display

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 10, 2008 at 11:08:26 AM

5

hide edges of a window family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 8, 2014 at 11:11:34 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1512646

Objects:

21254

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6880

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights