RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

393 Users Online (212 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit ROI >> to who generate 100% revit models and cd's

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 5, 2006 at 4:11:23 PM | to those who generate 100% revit models and cd's

#1

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


i was wondering if those of you generate 100% revit models and cd's are you retaining ownership of your revit models or is the client taking ownership of the model once a project is complete. From everything that i have been reading on BIM, one of the ways architects will be able to lever ROI is the use of these models by the client or others for purposes other construction documents. Do you feel that your models have any value beyond their intended purpose? Do you provide your models to engineers using Revit Structure at no charge to them or the client. i know in the autocad world a lot of companies will only provide pdf's if engineering is not being done in-house. does liability differ when providing revit models as appose to dwgs. i just wondering do a lot these type issues differ in the BIM world, because when done properly we are suppose to have a database of useable infomation. there is a lot written about it, but i haven't been able to find anything about some that leveraged a ROI beyond construction documents. any incite would be greatly appreciated, best regards, coreed,aia Post edited on 2006-04-05 11:46:59 Post edited on 2006-04-05 13:20:36

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 5, 2006 at 5:54:25 PM | RE: to who generate 100% revit models and cd's

#2

gdoorn


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 26, 2006
118 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


one thing we have talked about in my office is the fairly easy ability to do "as-builts" from the Revit model, if you maintain it through all of the RFI's & Construction process. it could the leverage to additional fees that you were refering to. we have yet to complete our first Revit project in CD's (still working on the permit set). but we are supposed to go in for permit in a couple weeks. i dont know if any of this helps, but this is what we have talked about here in LA.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 5, 2006 at 6:10:04 PM | RE: to who generate 100% revit models and cd's

#3

TomDorner


active

Joined: Sun, Apr 25, 2004
1207 Posts
4.5 Stars: 24 Votes


We use 100% Revit from inception to CD's to TI build-out to BOMA calcs to lease management. We are exploring the link via Innovaya from Revit to Timberline to get our main client the data they need to estimate, sequence and build our Revit projects. http://www.innovaya.com/ Revit has expanded our business base and we are about to get rid of the two last remaining AutoCAD hold-outs in our office and be 100% Revit (10 person firm). Anyone looking for a Revit job in the Twin Cities let me know. Tom

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 19, 2006 at 3:55:48 PM | RE: to who generate 100% revit models and cd's

#4

mfkkd


active

Joined: Sun, Jul 23, 2006
5 Posts
No Rating


Tom, I'm also using Innovaya and Timberline with Revit models. Got any wisdom to impart? Especially have you had any luck getting Innovaya to recognize "rooms" made in Revit?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 19, 2006 at 4:54:05 PM | RE: to who generate 100% revit models and cd's

#5

kesflower


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2005
169 Posts
4 Stars: 10 Votes


We retain owndership of our designs, be it in Revit or in AutoCAD. The difference in media does not change our intellectual property rights. We usually charge for the cost of printing our drawings (both in Revit or in AutoCAD) to share with other consultants (engineers, MEP, etc). But we have not yet had any problems using all the same legal jargon with Revit that we used with AutoCAD.

-----------------------------------

Ruth Rau

Main Street Architecture, P.C.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Curved monolitic stair won't generate in 3d

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 6, 2012 at 2:52:04 PM

5

Change 0'-0" MAIN LEVEL to 100'-0"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 23, 2006 at 12:40:49 AM

4

Printing without title block and to 1"=100'

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 8, 2005 at 10:58:39 PM

1

GENERATE ENERGY ANALYSIS

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Sat, Nov 11, 2017 at 12:51:18 PM

0

I need to change my building levels from 0'-0" to 100'-0"

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Sep 12, 2010 at 1:03:55 AM

12

Site Stats

Members:

1512255

Objects:

21254

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8009

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights