RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

217 Users Online (93 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> If/Then Parameters

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 2:16:48 PM | If/Then Parameters

#1

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Before I tackle this,  I want to know if it is even possible...

Can you have an if/then parameter that combines size and visibility? For instance, I am creating a multi-window family that allows you to set how many windows you want and the mull width (which could also be represented as a stud-pack). I've got an extrusion to represent the mulls/studs. If the mull width is zero, that would obviously mess up the extrusion so I am curious if you can set a visibility parameter on the mulls that says:

if mull width = 0", then mull width = 1" and mull width is not visible. 

I know I'd need a control parameter with that as well but hopefully my question is clear. Is that feasible in Revit or is there another (easier) way of doing what I am trying to do?


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 3:48:46 PM | If/Then Parameters

#2

daspungie


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 31, 2006
0 Posts
No Rating


I usually use an array in the family.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 4:07:57 PM | If/Then Parameters

#3

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Yes, the windows are arrayed and so would the mull. But if the mull width is set to zero, that's going to create an error. 


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 4:17:24 PM | If/Then Parameters

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Why don't you limit your array so there are no 0 mulls?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 4:28:26 PM | If/Then Parameters

#5

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Could you explain further?

 

Maybe "mull" is the incorrect word. I want the user to have the option of having mulled windows (0" between windows) or ganged windows (user defined X" between windows) within the same family. 

 


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 4:49:32 PM | If/Then Parameters

#6

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 10 Votes


if you want to create a parameter that makes it so that the mullion width is always going to be at least 1" wide you would have to creat a secondary parameter (lets call it Mull Actual) which controls the size of the mullion and references Mull Width which you input your value.

Ignore the Mull Vis. I had created that under a previous thought and realized thats not what you were asking.



Edited on: Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 10:51:26 AM

Attached Images

143902_Parameters.png

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 4:55:30 PM | If/Then Parameters

#7

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Right, you've got half my problem solved. That would prevent the mulls from going down to zero. BUT, can I then have a parameter that says to make them invisible when that "mull width" = zero?

 


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 4:56:13 PM | If/Then Parameters

#8

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 10 Votes


Im a little bit confused as to what you want. maybe post some screens of what you currently have as parameters and what the current window and extrusions you have setup in your family


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 5:03:46 PM | If/Then Parameters

#9

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 10 Votes


Is this what you want?



Attached Images

143906_Parameters2.png

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 5:08:37 PM | If/Then Parameters

#10

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I think you got it. That's exactly what I'm looking for. 

It was really more of a general question of if visibility can be controlled based on a length parameter and you answered that. I suck at if/thens so I wanted to hypothesize before I spent a ton of time on it.  

 

Thanks! I will post a pic of the family once it is modeled and I make sure everything is working correctly. 


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Feb 11, 2016 at 5:10:45 PM | If/Then Parameters

#11

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4.5 Stars: 10 Votes


Glad I could help. I look forward to seeing what you end up with.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 22, 2016 at 6:36:31 PM | If/Then Parameters

#12

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


I'm back! This adventure was put on hold for a bit but I am revisiting it with one minor hurdle left. I realized that I need the center mull (which is not arrayed) to have 2 visbility parameters. 

  1. Visible when the "Window Quantity" parameter = 2
  2. Visibile when the Mull Width > 0'

Can that be written in one formula? 



Attached Images

144633_mulls.jpg

-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Mar 22, 2016 at 6:41:06 PM | If/Then Parameters

#13

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Because right now that center mull only goes away when the Mull Width is zero OR the Window Quantity is 2. But if the Window Quantity is more than 2 and the Mull Width is any positive number greater than 1", then I get it showing right in the middle of the window.



Attached Images

144634_mull2.jpg

-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Mar 22, 2016 at 7:06:20 PM | If/Then Parameters

#14

revitape


active
revitape Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 13, 2007
111 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Sorry for the multi-posts... I think what I have determine for the Center Mull Visibility is like so:

Visible when Window Quantity = 2 and Mull Width > 0"

Not Visible when Window Quantity = 2 and Mull Width = 0"

Not Visible when Window Quantity > 2

 

Now my head hurts trying to comprehend it all!


-----------------------------------

High quality modern Revit furniture!

www.therevitcollection.com

The Revit Collection: High Quality Revit Families | Revit Furniture

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Mar 23, 2016 at 4:04:52 PM | If/Then Parameters

#15

CDWdavid


active

Joined: Mon, Aug 4, 2008
153 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Hi Revitape:

It looks like that you have three scenarios for visibility settings.

Here is my old post which has four lite configurations and controlled by the integers from 1 to 4. 

 

http://www.revitcity.com/downloads.php?action=view&object_id=11969

 

You can set the visibility as "1", when you want to see the central mullion.

"2, and "3", the central mullion is not visible.

Good luck and let us know.

 

 

 



Edited on: Wed, Mar 23, 2016 at 11:36:28 AM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Mystery parameters - shared?

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Nov 10, 2015 at 1:06:20 PM

1

Titleblock Parameters [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 9:57:53 PM

17

Instance Parameters in titleblock not linking

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 28, 2011 at 4:31:23 PM

12

Shared or Project Parameters?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 20, 2010 at 1:01:11 AM

10

Shared Parameters - Schedules multiple parameters one column?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 4, 2012 at 12:10:20 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1778656

Objects:

22475

Forum Posts:

151938

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2724

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights