RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

289 Users Online (136 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Revit Project Management >> Edit Parameters of Nested Family from Project

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Feb 1, 2016 at 5:35:44 PM | Edit Parameters of Nested Family from Project

#1

Pitufo067


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 27, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Hello all, I am looking for a solution to a problem that has been bothering me for a few days now. I have multiple instances of an Electrical Equipment family nested inside a Generic Model family. The Electrical Equipment family has Instance parameters. Once I insert the host family (Generic Model family) into a project I am able to see the parameters from the Electrical Equipment family. The problem is that I am not able to edit the value directly from the Project.

The three small cubes in the attached image are the Elec Equp instances. The rest is part of the Host (generic model) family. Notice the greyed out parameters to the left. This was taken from the project.

The puzzling part is that if I were to change that Instance parameter into a Type parameter in the Electrical Equp family, then it is editable from the Project. Unfortunately, that would mean I have to make several family types and since this is a very large project that is not going to be an option. Associating the parameters would not allow me to have different values for each instance of the Elec Equp family. There's a several things that I tried but rather not give a huge list of things. Please let me know if anyone has an idea of what steps to take.

I am sure the answer is somewhere out there in the revit world I tried searching in the Help and other sites. Forgive me if this has already been answered or if I missed the appropriate forum. Thanks in advance.



Edited on: Mon, Feb 1, 2016 at 3:37:41 PM

Attached Images

143675_Capture.PNG

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 1, 2016 at 7:58:37 PM | Edit Parameters of Nested Family from Project

#2

marmiketin1


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 19, 2015
0 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


in the generic family in which the electrical equipment is nested you must apply a parameter to the parameters which come from the electrical equipment. So essentially the parameter of the electrical equipment is nested in a parameter of the generic family. Usually you just call the parameter the same as what it is called in the nested family to keep things clean.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 1, 2016 at 9:52:58 PM | Edit Parameters of Nested Family from Project

#3

Pitufo067


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 27, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


Definitely. I have done that. I tested it out by adding 2 of the many paramaters from the Elec Equip family into the Generic family. Unfortunately, that didn't do it. All that does is allow me to add the parameters to the Host (Generic) family as seen in the attached picture. But that doesn't help me change the parameter to the individual Elec Equip family within the project. Maybe it's one of those useful steps that can't be done in Revit. Any other suggestions?



Attached Images

143682_Capture_2.PNG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 2, 2016 at 1:55:03 PM | Edit Parameters of Nested Family from Project

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 356 Votes


Please review your HELP to understand this process.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 2, 2016 at 2:54:40 PM | Edit Parameters of Nested Family from Project

#5

Pitufo067


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 27, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


WWHub, thanks for your wisdom. I didn't think of that. Problem fixed. Human mistake was found...surprise surprise. Thanks for suggestions Marmiketin1.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Nested Family Parameters in Project Bug?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 13, 2014 at 6:31:00 PM

1

Nested Families and System Parameters

Community >> Newbies

Fri, May 8, 2015 at 2:47:41 PM

6

Nested family parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 3, 2015 at 5:12:54 PM

1

Family re-load

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 29, 2009 at 1:39:53 PM

1

Shared Parameters with multiple families...Help

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 23, 2011 at 5:37:24 PM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1475085

Objects:

21061

Forum Posts:

151024

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1042

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights