RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

265 Users Online (134 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Using Revit on a touchscreen laptop

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, Jan 23, 2016 at 7:43:29 PM | Using Revit on a touchscreen laptop

#1

hgrimberg


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 27, 2006
38 Posts
No Rating


Is it possible to totally use Revit on a touchscreen computer with just your hands or a stylus? Can you just use your hands or you will always need the mouse? I am trying it and it looks like it doesn't really work.

In case it is possible somehow, is it better to use a 17" touchscreen laptop or better a 15" 2 in 1 where you can fold the screen and use it in a totally horizontal position?


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 24, 2016 at 1:55:24 PM | Using Revit on a touchscreen laptop

#2

Beaucoupnice


active
Beaucoupnice Avatar

Joined: Mon, Nov 19, 2007
93 Posts
3.5 Stars: 6 Votes


I've written about it as an aspiration in the future as interacting directly with the drawing itself has so many merits.

We are however limited in what technological resources are availableand affordable to us.

Some bulletpoints to summarise my thoughts to date:

- Laptops have small screens so a lot of zooming in and out will be needed. Apple have this action downpat with the two finger pinch but not many others are yet to develop the screen interactive software to match apple (although HP's fully integrated PC's do come close)

- Screen real estate is also a big issue. Revit has a huge quantity of on screen tool icons which take up most of the screen. Leaving very little space for modelling your work. It really needs at least 2 x 27' screens. One for drawing, one for the properties windows and project browser windows.

- Fingers are really fat, which is not ideal for precision work. So picking an exact position on screen is far harder than using a mouse's crosshair or the tip of a pen.

- Lag is a big issue. Namely the time difference between when you draw a line on the screen and the computer identifies the screen interaction, processes and draws that line on screen. The newish Ipad pro and ipen/istylus (whatever) stated they made huge improvements in this, but a quick visit to an apple store will prove this to be bullshit.

- Laptop's are fine for 2D work but buying an affordable laptop that can handle a complex Revit 3D BIM model and linked consultant models is impossible. Revit needs beefy processors and powerful gpus and most companies will not invest the money required in expensive laptops because they are ignorant to the downtime that comes along with slow computers.

Hope this helps!


-----------------------------------

__________I'm the guy they come to when they didn't follow my recommended workflows.__________

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 24, 2016 at 7:22:03 PM | Using Revit on a touchscreen laptop

#3

hgrimberg


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 27, 2006
38 Posts
No Rating


I forsee that drawing touching the screen is the future. I actually thought it was the present and that was why Revit had those big icons in the large ribbon. I didn't have a touchscreen up until now that I bought a new 17" laptop (HP ENVY 17). I was hesitant if to buy a 15" foldable 2 in 1 laptop or this 17" one because with a 2 in 1 you can fold it and use it horizontally in a more comfort way for working with your hands or a stylus and reaching all parts of the screen without having the keyboard underneath that can bother you. I now realize that Revit or the touchscreen technology is still not ready for this. I use Revit 2014 and zooming or selecting and editing objects with your hands doesn't really work for what I can see. Is it better on Revit 2016, is it improved now or is it still the same?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 25, 2016 at 6:13:40 AM | Using Revit on a touchscreen laptop

#4

hgrimberg


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 27, 2006
38 Posts
No Rating


So, anybody heard about the HP Active pen? It says: Draw, underline, or write with the natural feeling of pen to paper. The Spectre x360 is compatible with active pens using Synaptics® technology, like the HP Active Stylus accessory.

Is it good for using with Revit? Will it make Revit finally compatible with touch screens?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 1, 2017 at 1:14:20 AM | Using Revit on a touchscreen laptop

#5

vnd


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 5, 2004
97 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


So what is the latest on Revit and touch screens using stylus?


-----------------------------------
VND

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 1, 2017 at 1:47:20 PM | Using Revit on a touchscreen laptop

#6

archigrafix


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 5, 2013
38 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


I do not think the Revit interface is prepared for touchscreen operation. Microsoft recommends the following:

https://msdn.microsoft.com/library/windows/desktop/dn742468.aspx


-----------------------------------

Marc Faber

BIM Solutions Developer

archigrafix.com | Oslo, Norway

Now available: Graphic Studio and Reports for Revit

trees | cars | people | graphics | software

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 1, 2017 at 4:30:54 PM | Using Revit on a touchscreen laptop

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


If you are only creating conceptual masses, then touch screen or stylus could be beneficial.   But because Revit deals with precision, I don't see that as being a better alternative.


This user is online

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Touchscreen & Stylus with Revit?

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Jan 31, 2017 at 8:32:33 PM

1

Laptop market...

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Wed, Apr 27, 2016 at 4:54:35 PM

2

Want to buy a Laptop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Community >> The Studio

Mon, Jan 30, 2006 at 10:26:53 PM

14

old laptop

Workflow & Implementation >> Hardware

Tue, Jul 10, 2007 at 5:37:15 PM

2

laptop setup for revit [ 1 2 ]

Community >> The Studio

Thu, Oct 19, 2006 at 3:06:52 PM

21

Site Stats

Members:

1455694

Objects:

20598

Forum Posts:

150687

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 14.6776

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights